Get Newsletter

VIDEO: Jake White makes brave calls as Bulls await Bordeaux in decider

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White has made a few interesting selection calls ahead of their must-win Round Four Champions Cup encounter with French giants Bordeaux B├Ęgles in Pretoria on Saturday.


The Bulls will qualify for the Round of 16 with a point of any kind, but need a win for any chance of a home play-off fixture when they host Bordeaux at Loftus Versfeld.

The pool-topping French outfit visits has a five-point lead at the top, whilst the hosts are hot on their heels with just Lyon in second place, two points ahead.

Bristol lies in fourth place with five points.

This makes the Saturday meeting a mouth-watering clash between two sides who will leave nothing to chance.

White has made several changes to his matchday squad.

Mornay Smith comes into the front row at tighthead in place of injured Wilco Louw.


Smith will front up alongside Gerhard Steenekamp (loosehead) and Jan-Hendrik Wessels at hooker.

Behind the trio will be Reinhardt Ludwig and Ruan Nortje at lock.

The loose forwards display the most intriguing changes.

Marcell Coetzee will captain the Bulls from the blindside flank with Celimpilo Gumede starting at openside.


Cameron Hanekom returns to matchday duties and slots in at No.8.

(WATCH as Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White explains some of his more interesting selections in the team to face Bordeaux)

Video Spacer

The services of halfback duo, Embrose Papier (scrumhalf) and Johan Goosen (flyhalf) have been retained.

Behind them, there is a shuffle of positioning with Devon Williams moving from fullback to left wing, pairing up with Sebastian de Klerk on the right wing.

David Kriel returns to inside centre, as Stedman Gans partners up with him this week at outside centre.

Willie le Roux also returns to the matchday squad and will start at fullback.

The Bulls will have the services of Simphiwe Matanzima, Akker van der Merwe, Khutha Mchunu, Jacob van Heerden, Elrigh Louw, Keagan Johannes, Jaco van der Walt and the ever-colourful Cornal Hendricks on the replacement bench.

Bulls: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Sebastian de Klerk, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 David Kriel, 11 Devon Williams, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Mpilo Gumede, 6 Marcell Coetzee (captain), 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Reinhardt Ludwig, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Replacements: 16 Simphiwe Matanzima, 17 Akker van der Merwe, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 JF van Heerden, 20 Elrigh Louw, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Jaco van der Walt, 23 Cornal

Date: Saturday, January 20
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 15.00 (14.00 French time; 13.00 GMT)
Referee: Karl Dickson (England)
Assistant referees: John Meredith (England), Adam Leal (England)
TMO: Hamish Smales (England)

Picture credit: @BlueBullsRugby

Join free

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Fresh Starts | Episode 2 | Sam Whitelock

Royal Navy Men v Royal Air Force Men | Full Match Replay

Royal Navy Women v Royal Air Force Women | Full Match Replay

Abbie Ward: A Bump in the Road

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 9

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

Write A Comment