Get Newsletter

World Cup-winning Boks in Shark Tank face-off

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Two World Cup-winning Springboks will face off at Durban’s Kings Park in a European Cup Round of 16 match.


Rudolf Snyman is set to face off against Bok teammate Eben Etzebeth, after being named in a 28-man Munster squad heading for Durban.

Munster flew out of Limerick on Tuesday and arrive in Durban Wednesday, ahead of the big game.

The squad contains 16 forwards and 12 backs, with Munster’s 23-man matchday squad to be named on Friday.

Snyman, 28, joined Munster in 2020 – having featured in every game of South Africa’s successful 2019 World Cup campaign.

The imposing lock is highly regarded for his athleticism, ball-handling skills and towering presence in the line-out.

A product of the Bulls, he has made 23 appearances for South Africa and makes the move from Japan to Ireland.


However, he sustained a knee injury on his Munster debut that ruled him out until 2021.

He also underwent a skin graft procedure in July 2021, having sustained burns in a firepit accident while socialising with teammates.

He underwent a second knee surgery and suffered a couple of setbacks, which meant he has played only twice for Munster this season, both times off the bench – getting 17 minutes against Scarlets and 21 minutes against Glasgow Warriors this past weekend.

* On the Munster injury front, Niall Scannell (shoulder) has returned to full team training and has been selected in the travelling group.


Antoine Frisch is also included after recovering from a low-grade leg injury.

Conor Murray and Peter O’Mahony have returned to training after both featuring in all five of Ireland’s Six Nations games in the Grand Slam-winning campaign.

Munster squad

Forwards: Dave Kilcoyne, Josh Wycherley; Diarmuid Barron, Scott Buckley, Niall Scannell; Stephen Archer, Keynan Knox, Roman Salanoa; Jean Kleyn, Rudolf Snyman, Fineen Wycherley; Gavin Coombes, John Hodnett, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony.

Backs: Craig Casey, Conor Murray, Paddy Patterson; Joey Carbery, Jack Crowley, Ben Healy; Malakai Fekitoa, Antoine Frisch; Shane Daly, Mike Haley, Calvin Nash, Simon Zebo.

Euro Cup road to the Final

Join free

Walk the Talk | Ardie Savea | Trailer

New Zealand v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Munich Day Two Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Krakow Day Two Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Wildknights v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Bravelupus v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment