Get Newsletter

Prisciantelli kicked Zebre to victory over Oyonnax

MATCH REPORT: Zebre Parma flyhalf Geronimo Prisciantelli kicked two penalties and a conversion as the Italian side defeated TOP14 club Oyonnax 21-14 in the Challenge Cup.


Prisciantelli kicked a crucial eight points as the Italians fought back from an 11-point deficit in the 53rd minute.

The flyhalf kicked the game’s first points from the tee, and in a hard-fought opening 40 minutes Oyonnax scored the only try in the 39th minute, hooker Teddy Durand-Pradere forcing himself over with flyhalf Justin Bouraux adding the extras to send the hosts in 7-3 up.

A yellow card for Oyonnax ‘s Hugo Fabregue early in the second period gave Zebre Parma a chance to find their way back into the game, but it was Oyonnax who struck courtesy of fullback Darren Sweetman who intercepted the ball on his own five metre line before running the length of the pitch to dot down, Bouraux converting again.

Yet Zebre Parma eventually got over, lock Matteo Canali finding a gap in the spirited defensive line of the French side.

Priscantelli failed to convert but he had no such problems converting the Italian side’s second try moments later when scrumhalf Gonzalo Garcia dotted down following a break away move to put Zebre Parma back in the lead for the first time since the first-half.

Prisciantelli then kicked a further penalty before replacement Giovanni Montemauri added one of his own to confirm the Italian side’s victory, their first in this season’s competition.



For Oyonnax:
Tries: Durand, Sweetnam
Cons: Bouraux 2

For Zebre:
Tries: Canali, Garcia
Cons: Prisciantelli
Pens: Prisciantelli 3

Oyonnax: 15 Darren Sweetnam, 14 Gavin Stark, 13 Leo Treilles, 12 Theo Millet, 11 Daniel Ikpefan, 10 Justin Bouraux, 9 Ilan El Khattabi, 8 Rory Grice, 7 Hugo Hermet, 6 Kevin Lebreton, 5 Hugo Fabregue, 4 Ewan Johnson, 3 Ali Oz, 2 Teddy Durand-Pradere, 1 Rory Sutherland
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Geledan, 17 Antoine Abraham, 18 Christopher Vaotoa, 19 Steve Mafi, 20 Loic Credoz, 21 Yvan David, 22 Domingo Miotti, 23 Maxime Salles


Zebre: 15 Lorenzo Pani, 14 Pierre Bruno, 13 Fetuli Paea, 12 Enrico Lucchin, 11 Jacopo Trulla, 10 Geronimo Prisciantelli (captain), 9 Gonzalo Garcia, 8 Jake Polledri, 7 Taina Fox-Matamua, 6 Guido Volpi, 5 Leonard Krumov, 4 Matteo Canali, 3 Juan Pitinari, 2 Marco Manfredi, 1 Luca Rizzoli
Replacements: 16 Luca Bigi, 17 Alessio Sanavia, 18 Matteo Nocera, 19 Dylan De Leeuw, 20 Giacomo Ferrari, 21 Thomas Dominguez, 22 Giovanni Montemauri, 23 Giovanni Licata

Referee: Hamish Smales
Assistant referees: Sara Cox, Jon Meredith
TMO: Dean Richards

Source @EPCR

Join free

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 9

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Steelers | Full Match Replay

Write A Comment