Get Newsletter

Sharks quartet nominated for Euro's Top Award

SPOTLIGHT: The Sharks’ impressive Champions Cup show in the Pool stage made sure that four of their players make the longlist of nominees for the 2023 EPCR Player of the Year award.


Voted for by a panel of distinguished judges this season’s longlist of 15 players includes Sharks stars Siyamthanda Kolisi, Eben Etzebeth, Makazole Mapimpi and Jaden Hendrikse.

Leinster also has four representatives in Garry Ringrose, Caelan Doris, last year’s winner Josh Van der Flier and Gavin Osborne.

In addition, Antoine Dupont, winner in 2021, and Julien Marchand of Stade Toulousain have made the elite list along with Grégory Alldritt of Stade Rochelais, Saracens’ Elliot Daly and one of the world’s most gifted back rows, Justin Tipuric of the Ospreys.

The winner of the award, which is now in its 13th year, will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy in memory of the former Munster head coach and captain.

At the conclusion of the semifinal matches in April, the list will be reduced to five players by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges, and players who have not been included in the initial longlist, but who make a significant impact during the knockout stages of the Champions Cup and EPCR Challenge Cup, may be considered for the shortlist.

The winner of the 2023 award will be announced following the Champions Cup final at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on Saturday 20 May.


Grégory Alldritt (Stade Rochelais)
Gavin Coombes (Munster )
Caelan Doris (Leinster )
Elliot Daly (Saracens)
Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)
Eben Etzebeth (Sharks)
Jaden Hendrikse (Sharks)
Siyamthanda Kolisi (Sharks)
Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks)
Julien Marchand (Stade Toulousain)
Emmanuel Meafou (Stade Toulousain)
Jamie Osborne (Leinster )
Garry Ringrose (Leinster )
Justin Tipuric (Ospreys)
Josh van der Flier (Leinster )


Judging Panel – Bryan Habana (two-time Champions Cup winner), Sarah Hunter (former England captain), Elma Smit (sports presenter and producer), Andy Goode (two-time Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (Challenge Cup winner)

Roll of Honour – 2022: Josh van der Flier (Leinster ) ; 2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain) ; 2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs); 2019: Alex Goode (Saracens); 2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster ); 2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster ); 2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)

*Please note: Voting is now open HERE and fans will be in the running to win two VIP tickets with one night’s accommodation for the 2024 Champions Cup Final in May 2024.

Write A Comment