Mon 4 Jan 2021 | 07:41

Du Preez cited as ref gets it wrong

Du Preez cited as ref gets it wrong
Mon 4 Jan 2021 | 07:41
Du Preez cited as ref gets it wrong
SHARE

DISCIPLINARY NEWS: Sale Sharks Dan Du Preez finds himself in heaps of trouble following his moment of madness against Gloucester on Saturday.

ADVERTISEMENT

Sale No.8 Daniel du Preez smashed into the back of Gloucester’s centre Chris Harris, who had already been taken to the ground in a tackle, albeit a fraction of a second before the impact.

Du Preez made direct contact with the head of Harris, who was taken from the field for an HIA immediately after the hit.

Referee Karl Dickson referred the hit to TMO Geoff Warren, however, no punishment was given to Du Preez.

The referee along with TMO deemed the tackle legal, however after reviewing the footage – along with uproar from social media –  the citing commissioner determined that Du Preez had struck Harris in a dangerous manner in contravention of Law 9.12.

This means Du Preez could face a six-week ban.

Meanwhile,  Gloucester’s Ed Slater also find himself in hot water.

ADVERTISEMENT

Slater has been cited for dangerous play in a ruck or maul, contrary to World Rugby Law 9.20.

Both cases are to be considered in the first instance by an online independent disciplinary panel which will take place on Wednesday via video-conference.

The independent disciplinary panel for each player hearing will be chaired by Gareth Graham with Martyn Wood and Guy Lovgreen.

ADVERTISEMENT
PV: 10
ADVERTISEMENT
Du Preez cited as ref gets it wrong | Rugby365