Thu 11 Feb 2021 | 02:35

Injuries force Wales coach's hand

Injuries force Wales coach's hand
Thu 11 Feb 2021 | 02:35
Injuries force Wales coach's hand

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Wales named their side to take on Scotland in a Six Nations Round Two outing in Edinburgh on Saturday.


Wales travel to Murrayfield on a six-day turnaround, following their opening round success against Ireland.

Uncapped centre Uilisi Halaholo has been named on the bench of a side heavily influenced by injuries.

Wales have named the same front-five that featured last weekend – with Wyn Jones, Ken Owens and Tomas Francis forming the front row.

Adam Beard continues to partner captain Alun Wyn Jones in the second row.

Aaron Wainwright comes into the back row, to line up alongside Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau.

Both Josh Navidi and Josh Macleod are unavailable due to injury – with the latter originally selected to earn his first cap at blindside flank, before being ruled out.


Gareth Davies comes into the starting XV to partner Dan Biggar.

Nick Tompkins and Owen Watkin form a new-look midfield with Liam Williams returning to the side to line-up alongside Louis Rees-Zammit and Leigh Halfpenny.

(Continue below …)

Video Spacer

“We were pleased to kick the tournament off with a victory last weekend and to be heading to Scotland with a win behind us,” Wales coach Wayne Pivac said.

“We continue to build and to move forward and it is great to do that from a position of winning.


“It is a quick six-day turnaround this week but we are looking forward to getting back out there.

“We have picked up a couple of injuries but we see it as more of an opportunity for those coming into the side.

“We have to feel extremely disappointed for Josh (Macleod) who we selected to start and to win his first cap only to be ruled out later that day through injury.”

Elliot Dee, Rhodri Jones and Leon Brown provide the front row cover for Wales, with Will Rowlands and James Botham completing the forward contingent.

Kieran Hardy, Callum Sheedy and Halaholo provide the backline cover.

Players unavailable for selection: Dan Lydiate (released), Josh Navidi, Josh Macleod, Tomos Williams, Johnny Williams, George North, Jonathan Davies, Hallam Amos, Josh Adams (all injured).

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 Owen Watkin, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain), 4 Adam Beard, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Wyn Jones.
Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rhodri Jones, 18 Leon Brown, 19 Will Rowlands, 20 James Botham, 21 Kieran Hardy, 22 Callum Sheedy, 23 Uilisi Halaholo.

Date: Saturday, February 13
Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 16.45 (16.45 GMT)
Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzere (France), Andrea Piardi (Italy)
TMO: Karl Dickson (England)

Wales team to face Scotland

PV: 21
Injuries force Wales coach's hand | Rugby365