Thu 11 Feb 2021 | 02:53

Minor tweaks for high-flying Scotland

Minor tweaks for high-flying Scotland
Thu 11 Feb 2021 | 02:53
Minor tweaks for high-flying Scotland

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Scotland will aim to build on their historic winning start to the 2021 Six Nations this weekend when they face Wales at BT Murrayfield on Saturday,  February 13.


Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has made three changes, one in the pack and two in the backline following the opening weekend victory over England at Twickenham.

Flank Jamie Ritchie, centre Cameron Redpath and wing Sean Maitland are unavailable through injury.

Scarlets back-row Blade Thomson and Harlequins centre James Lang come into the starting XV, as does Edinburgh wing Darcy Graham. All three played in the last meeting between the two nations, when Scotland beat Wales in Llanelli in October in the concluding round of the 2020 Six Nations competition.

Captain Stuart Hogg continues at fullback following his ‘Man of the Match’ performance in the Calcutta Cup win and he is joined in the back-three by Edinburgh pair Duhan van der Merwe and Darcy Graham.

James Lang partners Gloucester’s Chris Harris in the midfield, with Ali Price and Finn Russell completing the back division. Russell takes on vice-captain duties with Jonny Gray.

Head Coach Townsend is able to select the same pack, with the inclusion of Thomson, that played in the opening round.


Rory Sutherland, George Turner and Zander Fagerson pack down in the front row, with Jonny Gray and Scott Cummings continuing their lock partnership.

Thomson comes onto the blindside flank, alongside Hamish Watson and Matt Fagerson in the back-row.

All the replacements who travelled to Twickenham are selected again as the matchday 23.

Edinburgh hooker David Cherry, who won his first cap against England, is joined by Oli Kebble and WP Nel as front row cover.


Richie Gray and Gary Graham provide the forward options, with scrum-half Scott Steele, Jaco van der Walt and Huw Jones available to cover the backs.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg (captain), 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Chris Harris, 12 James Lang, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Matt Fagerson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Blade Thomson, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 George Turner, 1 Rory Sutherland.
Replacements: 16 David Cherry, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Richie Gray, 20 Gary Graham, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Jaco van der Walt, 23 Huw Jones.

Date: Saturday, February 13
Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 16.45 (16.45 GMT)
Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzere (France), Andrea Piardi (Italy)
TMO: Karl Dickson (England)

PV: 27
Minor tweaks for high-flying Scotland | Rugby365