Thu 25 Mar 2021 | 08:43

Bulls make wholesale changes for Sharks clash

Bulls make wholesale changes for Sharks clash
Thu 25 Mar 2021 | 08:43
Bulls make wholesale changes for Sharks clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Bulls Director of Rugby, Jake White, continues rotating his squad as he named the group that will travel to face the Sharks in their final Preparation Series match at Kings Park on Friday.


Springbok Nizaam Carr continues to wear the captain’s armband and will lead a forward pack that sees significant changes.

BlitzBok Tim Agaba comes into the starting line-up at blindside flank with Werner Gouws shifting to openside.

Janko Swanepoel will wear the No.5 jumper while there is a completely new front row in Springboks’ Marcel van der Merwe and Lizo Gqoboka while Schalk Erasmus gets another opportunity to impress in the No.2 jersey.

Richard Kriel (fullback), Madosh Tambwe (right wing) and Zak Burger (scrumhalf) retain their spots from last week’s thrilling win over against the Stormers.

A new centre partnership will front up against the Durbanites with Marnus Potgieter and Dawid Kellerman entrusted with the responsibility while Diego Appollis will be on hunt for tries on the left wing.

Lastly, veteran Springbok flyhalf Morné Steyn returns to add valuable experience in what is a youthful backline.


The bench has also been adjusted significantly with Jacques van Rooyen being named as a replacement after starting last week.

Juniors Raynard Roets and Reinhardt Ludwig will cover lock and loose forward respectively, while Clinton Swart and Jay-Cee Nel have been named as utility back cover, with Keagan Johannes being named as the scrumhalf replacement.

Bulls: 15 Richard Kriel, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Marnus Potgieter, 12 Dawid Kellerman, 11 Diego Appollis, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Nizaam Carr (captain), 7 Tim Agaba, 6 Werner Gouws, 5 Janko Swanepoel, 4 Jan Uys, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements – from: 16 Janco Uys, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Raynard Roets, 20 WJ Steenkamp, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 Jay-Cee Nel, 24 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 25 Reinhardt Ludwig, 26 Bernard van der Linde, 27 Niel Beukes.

Date: Friday, March 26
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron, Ashleigh Murray
TMO: Stuart Berry

Video Spacer
PV: 13
Bulls make wholesale changes for Sharks clash | Rugby365