Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Wed 10 Apr 2019 | 02:15

Bulls rush their big guns back

Bulls rush their big guns back
Wed 10 Apr 2019 | 02:15
Bulls rush their big guns back

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Bulls coach Pote Human wasted no time in rushing a host of Springboks back for their Super Rugby Round Nine encounter with the Reds.

Springboks Warrick Gelant, Jesse Kriel, Handré Pollard, Ivan van Zyl, Marco van Staden and Rudolph Snyman are all in the starting team to play the Reds at Loftus Versfeld.

Human made wholesale changes to the side that lost a shocker to the Jaguares last weekend.

Gelant returns from injury and takes over from Divan Rossouw at fullback, with the latter dropping to the bench.

Kriel and Pollard return after sitting out due to World Cup protocols.

They replace Dylan Sage and Manie Libbok, with the flyhalf moving back to the bench.

Van Staden and Snyman are back in the team for the first time this season, having missed the opening part due to injury.

They replace Ruan Steenkamp and Eli Snyman, who both picked up injuries against the Jaguares.

Human rotated Van Zyl and Papier again, with Van Zyl starting for the third time this season.

Duane Vermeulen is rested due to Bok protocols, allowing Paul Schoeman his first start this season at No.8.

Hanro Liebenberg swaps places with Jannes Kirsten, with the latter moving to lock, while a fit-again Jaco Visagie will start at hooker. Corniel Els reverts to the bench.

On the bench, Roelof Smit makes a first appearance for the season having recovered from injury, while there is also a potential first appearance for prop Wiehahn Herbst.

The front rower played for the Sharks earlier in his career, before moving to Ulster, from where he joined the Bulls.

He played the last of his 40 Super Rugby matches in 2014.

Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jade Stighling, 10 Handré Pollard (captain), 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Paul Schoeman, 7 Hanro Liebenberg, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Rudolph Snyman, 4 Jannes Kirsten, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Thembelani Bholi, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw.

Date: Saturday, April 13
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 17.15 (15.15 GMT; 01.15, Sunday, April 14 Brisbane time)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), AJ Jacobs (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)

Video Spacer

PV: 1492

Bulls Rush Their Big Guns Back | Rugby365