Thu 25 Mar 2021 | 11:13

'It was not a red card'

'It was not a red card'
Thu 25 Mar 2021 | 11:13
'It was not a red card'
SHARE

JUDICIAL HEARING NEWS: Blues prop Ofa Tuungafasi has escaped sanction for his ruck clearance in the loss to the Crusaders last week.

ADVERTISEMENT

A SANZAAR judicial committee hearing has found Ofa Tuungafasi of the Blues not guilty of contravening Law 9.12: Striking with shoulder – after he was cited following a Super Rugby Aotearoa match last weekend.

No further sanction has been imposed on the player.

The yellow card issued in the match, for a breach of Law 9.20 (“dangerous play in a ruck”) will remain on the Player’s record.

The incident occurred at the 74th minute during the match between the Blues and Crusaders at Eden Park in Auckland on March 21.

The SANZAAR Judicial Hearing held via video conference on Wednesday 24 March 2021 was heard by Nigel Hampton (Chairperson), John Langford and David Croft.

“Having conducted a detailed review of all the available video footage – in conjunction with all other evidence, including from the player, and submissions from his legal representative, Aaron Lloyd – the Judicial Committee dismissed the citing under Law 9.12,” Hampton said.

ADVERTISEMENT

“In not upholding the citing, the judicial committee found that it was not satisfied, on the balance of probabilities, that the red card threshold had been met.

“Nor was the Committee satisfied that the Match Referee was wrong in his issuing a yellow card.

“The player is therefore free to resume playing and no further sanction will be applied.”

 

ADVERTISEMENT

PV: 13
ADVERTISEMENT
'It was not a red card' | Rugby365