Get Newsletter

Match of the day: Then there were 12

Match of the day: Then there were 12

WATCH as we bring the first Final of Super Rugby’s professional era – the Auckland Blues hosting the Natal Sharks at Eden Park.


After the amateur version of Super Rugby, the Super 10, the Super 12 was a step up in terms of entertainment.

Many said it was (is) still the best version of Super Rugby.

This Final – played 25 May 1996 – certainly gives us a few hints.

We again include the teams and scorers for your consumption.

Auckland Blues 45-21 Natal Sharks


Auckland Blues
Tries: Blowers 2, Spencer, Riechelmann, Clarke, Lomu
Cons: Cashmore 3
Pens: Cashmore 3

Natal Sharks
Tries: Joubert, Small
Con: Henry Honiball
Pens: Honiball 3



Auckland Blues: 15 Adrian Cashmore, 14 Joeli Vidiri, 13 Eroni Clarke, 12 Johnny Ngauamo, 11 Jonah Lomu, 10 Carlos Spencer, 9 Ofisa Tonu’u, 8 Zinzan Brooke (captain), 7 Andrew Blowers, 6 Michael Jones, 5 Charles Riechelmann, 4 Robin Brooke, 3 Olo Brown, 2 Sean Fitzpatrick, 1 Craig Dowd.
Replacements: 16 Lee Stensness, 17 Cameron Rackham, 18 Michael Scott, 19 Jason Chandler, 20 Kevin Nepia, 21 Andrew Roose.

Coach: Graham Henry

Natal Sharks: 15 André Joubert, 14 James Small, 13 Jeremy Thomson, 12 Dick Muir, 11 Cabous van der Westhuisen, 10 Henry Honiball, 9 Kevin Putt, 8 Gary Teichmann (captain), 7 Wickus van Heerden, 6 Wayne Fyvie, 5 Mark Andrews, 4 Steve Atherton, 3 Adrian Garvey, 2 John Allan, 1 Ollie le Roux.
Replacements:, 16 Jozuzi Joubert, 17 Roland de Marigny, 18 Robert du Preez, 19 Dieter Kriese, 20 John Slade, 21 Federico Mendez.


Coach: Ian McIntosh

Sources: Ronnie Suarez & @rugby365com

Write A Comment