Thu 10 Jun 2021 | 09:35

Winless Waratahs forced to change for Chiefs clash

Winless Waratahs forced to change for Chiefs clash
Thu 10 Jun 2021 | 09:35
Winless Waratahs forced to change for Chiefs clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Chiefs in Round Five of the Super Rugby Trans-Tasman competition.


NSW Waratahs Co-Coaches Chris Whitaker and Jason Gilmore have been forced to make fives changes to the starting XV that took the field against the Highlanders.

The Waratahs cruel luck with injuries has continued with captain Jake Gordon (leg), Jack Maddocks (hand) and Dave Porecki (calf) all ruled out with injuries suffered against the Highlanders joining Angus Bell, Harry Johnson-Holmes and Ben Donaldson on the sidelines.

Tom Horton returns to the starting side after making his return from injury via the Shute Shield and joins Andrew Tuala and Te Tera Faulkner in the front-row.

“It’s fortunate we’re able to call on Tom Horton, he played some minutes for Sydney Uni last week, so he’s been itching to get back in the team and we’re looking forward to seeing him play,” Whitaker said.

Jack Dempsey plays his final match for the Waratahs at openside and will partner new recruit Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco who makes his run-on debut at number 8 and Lachie Swinton at blindside.

“Rahboni’s impact last week was pretty good and we’re interested to see what he can do with more minutes starting the match at Number 8,” Whitaker said.


“We want to see him get his hands on the ball and show what he can do”.

Jack Grant returns to the starting line-up for the first time since Round 6 against the Reds and partners Will Harrison in the halves.

Mark Nawaqanitawase has been shifted to fullback with Jack Maddocks ruled out, while James Ramm has recovered from his should injury suffered against the Rebels in the final match of Super Rugby AU and links with Alex Newsome in the back-three.

“Good timing as well for us having Rammy available with Jack Maddocks ruled out with a broken hand from last weekend,” Whitaker said.


“He’s another one that got plenty of minutes under his belt last weekend in the Shute Shield, so it’s good to have him back.”

The Waratahs Co-Coaches have retained a six-two split on the bench with former Wallaby Pek Cowan joining the side early in the week and set to make his NSW Waratahs debut.

The NSW Waratahs will be wearing their First Nations jersey designed by Dylan Barnes this weekend against the Chiefs.

Waratahs: 15 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 14 Alex Newsome (captain), 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 James Ramm, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, 7 Jack Dempsey, 6 Lachlan Swinton 5 Jack Whetton, 4 Hugh Sinclair, 3 Te Tera Faulkner, 2 Tom Horton, 1 Andrew Tuala
Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Sam Caird, 20 Jeremy Williams, 21 Will Harris, 22 Henry Robertson, 23 Tane Edmed

Date: Saturday, June 12
Venue: Brookvale Oval, Sydney
Kick-off: 19.45 (21.45 NZST; 09.45 GMT)
Referee: Jordan way
Assistant referees: Damon Murphy, Reuben Keane
TMO: Brett Cronan

PV: 18