Get Newsletter

Bulls bank on big guns to end Stormers' dominance in Derby

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Elrigh Louw leads a determined Bulls side who travel to the Cape for the first instalment of the North-South derby in the current 2023-24 season.


This Round Eight festive clash of the United Rugby Championship is set for Saturday, beneath the iconic and wonderous Table Mountain at the Cape Town Stadium.

The herd will assemble a formidable forward pack featuring Gerhard Steenekamp, Akker van der Merwe and Wilco Louw at front row.

The trio will be supported by the lock duo of Janko Swanepoel and Reinhardt Ludwig combining once more at second row. The pair will be flanked by Marco van Staden and Louw who continues to lead the side in the absence of club co-captains.

Cameron Hanekom will lace up his boots at eight.

Behind Hanekom will be halfback duo, Embrose Papier who starts at scrumhalf and Johan Goosen who will be at fly half.

The pair will link the forwards to the backline made up of Canan Moodie at left wing and Kurt-Lee Arendse on the right of the park. David Kriel and Stedman Gans will run out together once more, creating magic at centre with Willie le Roux providing creative cover at fullback.


Director of Rugby Jake White will have Simphiwe Matanzima, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Mornay Smith, Deon Slabbert, Mpilo Gumede, Keagan Johannes, Chris Smith and Sebastian de Klerk to call upon from the five-three split impact squad.

Bulls: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 David Kriel, 11 Canan Moodie, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Elrigh Louw (captain), 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Reinhardt Ludwig, 4 Janko Swanepoel, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Replacements: 16 Simphiwe Matanzima, 17 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Deon Slabbert, 20 Mpilo Gumede, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Sebastian de Klerk.

Date: Saturday, December 23:
Venue: Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa), Griffin Colby (South Africa)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Join free

New Zealand v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Munich Day Two Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Krakow Day Two Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Wildknights v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Bravelupus v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

The Antoine Dupont Interview

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment