Get Newsletter

Bulls change it up for Cardiff clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Bulls have made a handful of changes to their side that will face Welsh side Cardiff in Round Three of the United Rugby Championship on Saturday.


Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White opted to make full use of the team’s rotation system ahead of the match that will be played at Cardiff Arms Park.

“We are making some changes to our match-day squad this week to ensure that we utilise our squad depth while giving fair opportunity to the players to get a feel of this competitive tournament,” White said.

The Bulls team will see five changes to the backline personnel, while four new faces will be seen from the forwards pack that was on duty last weekend against Connacht.

Fullback David Kriel, wings Madosh Tambwe and Kurt-Lee Arendse make returns to the starting XV, while scrumhalf Ambrose Papier makes a welcomed return in the run-on team after having spent weeks recuperating from an injury ahead of the start of the URC.

Cornal Hendricks will shift from wing to the familiar outside centre position, where he will partner with Harold Vorster.

A new-look front row will see hooker Bismarck du Plessis linking up with props Simphiwe Matanzima and Jacques van Rooyen. Janko Swanepoel, at lock, and Jacques du Plessis, at blindside flanker, will both earn starting berths.


“Cardiff has shown good form so far this season in their win over Connacht at home, and, despite their narrow defeat, last week in the Welsh derby against Ospreys. We expect them to come out guns blazing, and we have no doubt that they will be a tough side to face,” added White.

Bulls: 15 David Kriel, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Cornal Hendricks, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Marcell Coetzee (captain), 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Janko Steenkamp, 3 Jacques van Rooyen, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Simphiwe Matanzima.
Replacements: 16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Robert Hunt, 19 Walt Steenkamp, 20 Arno Botha, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Lionel Mapoe.

Date: Saturday, October 9
Venue: Arms Park, Cardiff
Kick-off: 19.35 (20.35; 18.35 GMT)
Referee: Chris Busby (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Ben Whitehouse (Wales), John Darcy (Wales)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)

Bulls team


Write A Comment