Sun 26 Dec 2021 | 07:07

Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh - Teams and Prediction

Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh - Teams and Prediction
Sun 26 Dec 2021 | 07:07
Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh - Teams and Prediction

URC ROUND EIGHT: The scheduled action-packed Christmas weekend suffered a major curveball with key derby clashes postponed due to Covid-19.


The Irish derby between Munster and Leinster was the first causality of the weekend, while all the Boxing day soon followed.

However, fans can still enjoy the battle between Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh on Monday, December 27.

Edinburgh are currently lying second behind Leinster on the overall log and have a good chance of going top but have quite an obstacle to overcome in the form of their Scottish derby opponents Glasgow Warriors at the Scotstoun in Glasgow on Monday.

The Warriors’ only Championship defeat at Scotstoun in their last eight fixtures was the 15-31 reverse to Leinster in October. However, as their log position indicates, Edinburgh have also been in excellent form, with their only defeat in the last eight games being the unexpected one-point defeat to Benetton in Treviso in the first weekend of October.

Edinburgh have won their previous two away games and if they get it right against Glasgow it will be the first time they have won three away games in succession since 2009.

The Warriors though have won their last three games against Edinburgh, their best run of consecutive wins over their rivals since 2014. Monday’s game will the 174th edition of the longstanding 1872 Cup rivalry, with Edinburgh having the edge with 85 wins against Glasgow’s 66 and 22 matches drawn.


Their games are invariably close and judging from the recent form of the respective teams this one should be no different.

In terms of team news, Sebastian Cancelliere’s inclusion is the only alteration to the Glasgow Warriors side that claimed a dominant 22-7 victory over Exeter last time out, as Danny Wilson’s men look to start their trophy defence on the front foot.

George Turner packs down once again at hooker, joining Scotland colleagues Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson in the front-row.

Scott Cummings partners Richie Gray in the engine room, linking up for the third successive match in the second row.


Jack Dempsey continues at number eight after his Player of the Match-winning display against Exeter last weekend, as Rory Darge and Matt Fagerson join the Australian as part of a dynamic back-row triumvirate.

Ali Price continues as captain in the absence of club co-captains Ryan Wilson and Fraser Brown, with Ross Thompson lining up at fly-half 51 weeks on from his professional debut against the men from the capital.

Kyle Steyn moves to outside centre in place of the unavailable Sione Tuipulotu, teaming up with Sam Johnson to form the midfield combination.

Steyn’s shift infield allows for the inclusion of Cancelliere on the wing, with Cole Forbes and Josh McKay retaining their places in the back-three after an impressive showing against Exeter.

Scotland wing Darcy Graham returns for Edinburgh.

Graham is one of 14 internationalists selected in the capital side’s starting XV which also includes seven changes to the group that claimed a famous European victory against Saracens a fortnight ago.

Recently re-signed Academy graduate Cammy Hutchison is selected at inside centre, while a refreshed half-back combination sees scrum-half Henry Pyrgos paired with stand-off Jaco van der Walt, who returns from injury to make his first start since October.

Three further changes are made to the pack as Fijian international Lee-Roy Atalifo gets the nod at tighthead prop, Scotland cap Jamie Hodgson is named at lock and Magnus Bradbury starts at number 8.


@rugby365com:  Edinburgh by five points.


Glasgow Warriors: 15 Josh McKay; 14 Sebastian Cancelliere, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Cole Forbes; 10 Ross Thompson, 9 Ali Price (Captain); 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Rory Darge, 6 Matt Fagerson, 5 Richie Gray, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 George Turner, 1 Jamie Bhatti
Replacements: 16 Johnny Matthews, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Murphy Walker, 19 Kiran McDonald, 20 Thomas Gordon, 21 George Horne, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Stafford McDowall.

Edinburgh: 15 Emiliano Boffelli; 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Cammy Hutchison, 11 Ramiro Moyano; 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Henry Pyrgos (captain); 8 Magnus Bradbury, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Luke Crosbie, 5 Jamie Hodgson, 4 Marshall Sykes, 3 Lee-Roy Atalifo, 2 Stuart McInally, 1 Pierre Schoeman,
Replacements: 16 Dave Cherry, 17 Harrison Courtney, 18 Angus Williams, 19 Pierce Phillips, 20 Glen Young, 21 Ben Vellacott, 22 Charlie Savala, 23 Chris Dean.

Date: Monday, December 27
Venue: Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow
Kick-off: 19.00 (19.00 GMT)
Referee: Ben Blain (Scotland)
Assistant Referees: Keith Allen (Scotland), David Sutherland (Scotland)
TMO: Mike Adamson (Scotland)

PV: 11