Get Newsletter

Mbonambi starts as Sharks reveal Bok-laden team

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Sharks head coach Sean Everitt has revealed a powerful team to face the Bulls in their United Rugby Championship clash on Friday.


Back in the side are Springbok captain Siyamthanda Kolisi and centre Lukhanyo Am, who will lead the team from the midfield.

Springbok wings Makazole Mapimpi and Sibusiso Nkosi have also been included in the starting XV.

Meanwhile, Springbok hooker Bongi Mbonambi makes his debut in the black and white jersey, having been signed from the Stormers.

Argentina flyhalf Joaquín Díaz Bonilla has been included on the bench.

“It’s great to have the Boks back with us,” Everitt admitted.

“They’ve come back into the squad full of energy and enthusiasm and have acted like true professionals.”


Everitt added: “While we’re up against a tough side in the Bulls, this is a Sharks side that grew over the first four rounds of the URC and we’re looking forward to taking the Bulls on in front of our fans, even if it’s a limited number.

“It’s going to be great to have spectators cheering the Sharks on and I’m sure the players will deliver a performance fitting the gratitude they have for their support.”

Sharks: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Henry Chamberlain, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Phendulani Buthelezi, 7 Jeandre Labuschagne, 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu.
Replacements: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Sanele Nohamba, 22 Joaquín Díaz Bonilla, 23 Werner Kok.

Date: Friday, December 3
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa), Paul Mente (South Africa)
TMO: Stuart Berry (South Africa)


Write A Comment