Get Newsletter

Sharks to unleash Rohan against new-look Stormers

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENTS: The Stormers and the Sharks have revealed their teams for Friday’s pre-season clash in Gqeberha.


There are a host of changes to the Stormers squad that faced South Western Districts Eagles in George last week.

In the backline, there is a new midfield duo as young Suleiman Hartzenberg, who scored four tries in George, is partnered by the experienced Dan du Plessis. Chris Hollis is on the wing and scrumhalf Paul de Wet makes his return from injury.

In the forward pack, captain Ernst van Rhyn is joined in the loose trio by No.8 Hacjivah Dayimani and Junior Pokomela, while Marvin Orie slots into the second row.

There is also an all-new front row of Ali Vermaak, Neethling Fouche and Andre-Hugo Venter.

The extended replacements bench features a number of exciting young talents, with the likes of Imad Khan and Paul de Villiers alongside experience such as Seabelo Senatla and Godlen Masimla.

Head coach John Dobson said that after a good training week, this final pre-season friendly is a vital part of their preparations for the upcoming campaign.


“We saw some really encouraging signs last week and the squad has really connected well this week as we have prepared for this match.

“It will be really valuable for all 26 players to get some gametime as we continue to build towards our first match of the season which is just over two weeks away,” he said.

Meanwhile, the Sharks have also made a number of changes to their squad that beat the Lions last week.

Springbok centre Rohan Janse van Rensburg, who joined the Sharks from Sale, gets the No.12 jersey with Ben Tapuai moving to outside centre.


Yaw Penxe moves to the No.11 wing with Werner Kok getting an opportunity in the No.14 jersey.

There is a change in the back row with Sikhumbuzo Notshe taking over the No.8 jersey from Phendulani Buthelezi. In the second row, Justin Basson will partner Reniel Hugo.

The Sharks will also have new starting props in the form of Thomas du Toit and Ntuthuko Mchunu.


Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Werner Kok, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Grant Williams, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Dylan Richardson, 6 James Venter, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu.
Replacements – from: Dan Jooste, Fez Mbatha, Dian Bleuler, Carlu Sadie, Thembelani Bholi, Gerbrandt Grobler, Phendulani Buthelezi, Zee Mkhabela, Henry Chamberlain, Marnus Potgieter, Thaakir Abrahams.

Stormers: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Tristan Leyds, 13 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Chris Hollis, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Connor Evans, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Andre-Hugo Venter, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements – from: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Gary Porter, 20 Paul de Villiers, 21 Louwan Horn, 22 Marcel Theunissen, 23 Imad Khan, 24 Seabelo Senatla, 25 Mnombo Zwelendaba, 26 Godlen Masimla.

Date: Friday, September 9
Venue: Kolisi Field at Grey High School, Gqeberha
Kick-off: 14.00 (12.00 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Griffin Colby, Stephan Geldenhuys

Write A Comment