Get Newsletter

Four changes for Scotland's battle with Tonga

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has made four changes to his starting side to face Tonga in Pool B at Stade de Nice on Sunday.


Kyle Steyn comes into the starting XV in place of wing Darcy Graham and Duhan van der Merwe is named on the other wing, who will aim to add to his 20-try tally from 32 caps.

Chris Harris returns to the 13 jersey for the first time since Scotland’s 25-13 victory over Italy and he will partner Sione Tuipulotu, who starts for the fifth consecutive match, at centre.

Blair Kinghorn retains his spot at fullback with Finn Russell and Ben White once again named as the half-back partnership.

In the forwards, Sutherland comes in at loosehead and is joined in the front-row by Zander Fagerson (tighthead) and hooker George Turner. Cummings and Richie Gray make up the second row.

The back row is unchanged from the opener against South Africa, with captain Jamie Ritchie named at blindside flanker, Rory Darge on the openside and Jack Dempsey again selected at the base of the scrum.

Among the replacements, hooker Ewan Ashman and scrumhalf George Horne return after missing out on the opening game through concussion.


Pierre Schoeman will start the match from the bench and fellow prop WP Nel retains his spot in the 23 along with Matt Fagerson, who offers cover across the back row positions.

Sam Skinner will be aiming for his first World Cup appearance from the bench with Huw Jones and Darcy Graham looking to make an impact as substitutes.

Scotland: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Kyle Steyn, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Sione Tuipulotu, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ben White, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Rory Darge, 6 Jamie Ritchie (captain), 5 Scott Cummings, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 George Turner, 1 Rory Sutherland.
Replacements: 16 Ewan Ashman, 17 Pierre Schoeman, 18. WP Nel, 19 Sam Skinner, 20 Matt Fagerson, 21 George Horne, 22 Huw Jones, 23 Darcy Graham

Date: Sunday, September 24
Venue: Stade de Nice, Nice
Kick-off: 17.45 (15.45 GMT, 16.45 BST, September 25, 04.45 TOT)
Referee: Karl Dickson (England)
Assistant Referees: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia), Craig Evans (Wales)
TMO: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)


Additional source @WorldRugby

Write A Comment