PREVIEW: Wasps v Leicester Tigers

Fri, 19 May 2017 10:31
Large jimmy goppeth wasps smile 800

PREMIERSHIP SEMIFINAL: On Saturday Ricoh Arena becomes the twelfth venue to host a Premiership semifinal when Wasps welcome Leicester Tigers.

The two clubs met in five previous semifinals, but have never faced each other in the Premiership Semifinals.  

The host, Wasps have had a stellar season and even grabbed five awards at the Premiership Rugby' annual ceremony.

Under the guidance of Dai Young - and with the help of players like Jimmy Gopperth, Christian Wade, Elliot Daly and Joe Launchbury - Wasps ended the season on top of the Premiership table. 

However, Wasps' semi-finals performance seemed to lack that intensity. They have lost their last four semi-final appearances in all tournaments and in Premiership Rugby they have played in six previous semi-final fixtures winning four and losing two.

The visitors Leicester Tigers face a stern test this Saturday.

This is Leicester’s record-breaking 13th successive appearance in the semifinals and despite sneaking into the fourth spot the Tigers are eyeing their first Premiership title since 2013.

Probably one of the club with the richest history in the English tournament, the Tigers managed to end fourth despite three sacked coached and a host of injuries to key players.

Prediction: Wasps only defeat in the last seven rounds of Premiership Rugby was 13-32 at Harlequins on April 28. Wasps were the only side with a 100 percent winning record at home during the regular season, only failing to pick up maximum points twice – against Exeter in round One and Leicester in round 13. Wasps have not been defeated at the Ricoh Arena in Premiership Rugby since Saracens were the visitors on December 27, 2015.
Leicester Tigers only defeat in their last seven first team matches was 21-27 to Bath at Twickenham on April 8.
Wasps have won their last three fixtures against Leicester whilst the Tigers have visited Ricoh Arena on three previous occasions, winning once on their first visit in May 2015. Thus, Wasps will win this semifinal by 9 points.


Wasps: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Jimmy Gopperth, 11 Willie Le Roux, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Thomas Young, 6 James Haskell, 5 Matt Symons, 4 Joe Launchbury (captain), 3 Phil Swainston, 2 Ashley Johnson, 1 Matt Mullan
Replacements: 16 Tommy Taylor, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Marty Moore, 19 James Gaskell, 20 Guy Thompson, 21 Dan Robson, 22 Alapati Leiua, 23 Josh Bassett

Leicester Tigers: 15 Telusa Veainu, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Mathew Tait, 12 Owen Williams, 11 Peter Betham, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Luke Hamilton, 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Mike Fitzgerald, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Dom Barrow, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs (captain), 1 Ellis Genge
Replacements: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Greg Bateman, 18 Fraser Balmain, 19 Ed Slater, 20 Mike Williams, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Jack Roberts, 23 Matt Smith

Date: Saturday, May 20
Venue: Ricoh Arena
Kick-off: 17.15 (17.15 GMT)
Referee: Matthew Carley
Assistant referees: Thomas Foley, Paul Dix
TMO: David Grashoff


There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 May 2018
Crusaders v Hurricanes 07h35 Christchurch
Rebels v Sunwolves 09h45 Melbourne
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Sat, 26 May 2018
Chiefs v Waratahs 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Highlanders 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Brumbies 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 14h00 London
Stormers v Lions 15h15 Newlands
Leinster v Scarlets 17h00 Dublin
Team P W D L Pts
Exeter Chiefs 22 17 0 5 85
Saracens 22 16 0 6 77
Wasps 22 14 1 7 71
Newcastle Falcons 22 14 0 8 63
Leicester Tigers 22 13 0 9 63
Bath 22 11 0 11 56
Gloucester 22 11 1 10 56
Sale Sharks 22 10 0 12 54
Northampton Saints 22 8 0 14 43
Harlequins 22 7 0 15 36
Worcester Warriors 22 7 0 15 36
London Irish 22 3 0 19 22