Get Newsletter

Los Pumas without veteran flyhalf for Rugby Champs opener

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Argentina head coach Michael Cheika has revealed his team for their 2022 Rugby Championship opener against Australia in Mendoza on Saturday.


There are three changes to the backline that started in the 34-31 win in the third Test against Scotland.

Santiago Cordero comes in on the wing for Bautista Delguy, while Jerónimo de la Fuente gets the nod over Matias Moroni at inside centre.

The final change in the backline sees Tomas Cubelli take over the No.9 duties from Lautaro Bazán Vélez.

The blow for Argentina is that veteran flyhalf Nicolás Sánchez has been ruled out of the matchday 23 because of injury.

Meanwhile, a new-look pack that will be in action on Saturday.

Pablo Matera will wear the No.8 jersey this weekend with Marcos Kremer and Juan Martín González Samso on the flanks.


In the second row, Tomás Lavanini will have a new partner in the form of Matías Alemanno.

In the front row, Francisco Gómez Kodela comes in for Joel Sclavi with Julian Montoya leading the team from the hooker position.

Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro comes in to wear the No.1 jersey with Thomas Gallo dropping down to the bench.

Argentina: 15 Juan Cruz Mallía, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Juan Martín González Samso, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Francisco Gómez Kodela, 2 Julian Montoya (captain), 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Thomas Gallo, 18 Joel Sclavi, 19 Santiago Grondona, 20 Rodrigo Bruni, 21 Lautaro Bazán Vélez, 22 Tomas Albornoz, 23 Matias Moroni.


Date: Saturday, August 6
Venue: Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza
Kick-off: 16.10 (19.10 GMT; 05.10 AEST Sunday, August 7)
Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Karl Dickson (England), Chris Busby (Ireland)
TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen [South Africa]

Join free

Two-time Commonwealth champion to Paris Olympian | Georgia-Mae Fenton | Stronger Than You Think | S3 Ep 3

England vs France | World Rugby U20 Championship Final | Full Match Replay

Scotland vs USA | U20 Trophy Final | Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Episode 15 | Extreme Golf Special

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 4

Before They Make It | South Africa

Before They Make It | England

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 22

Women's Six Nations winner to Paris Olympic sevens for Team GB | Ellie Kildunne | Stronger Than You Think | S3 Ep 2

Write A Comment