Thu 18 Jul 2019 | 06:51

Foreign power for Pumas

Foreign power for Pumas
Thu 18 Jul 2019 | 06:51
Foreign power for Pumas

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Two European-based players will start for Argentina when they host New Zealand in the opening round of the Rugby Championship.

Stade Francais flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez headlines the Los Pumas starting XV that will face the All Blacks at Estadio José Amalfitani in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Saracens prop Juan Figallo is the other foreign-based player to get a run.

Flank Pablo Matera will captain the side.

Matera, one of an astonishing 13 players who started the Super Rugby Final for the Jaguares, the Crusaders numerous problems with his ability to offload in the wider channels.

Los Pumas’ recent form is not nearly as impressive as their Super Rugby franchise’s performances.

Argentina have lost 10 of their last 12 games, including their last five in succession.

That poor run has meant they have slipped to 10th in World Rugby’s rankings, behind Fiji.’

The All Blacks have a remarkably consistent recent record at the Jose Amalfitani Stadium in Buenos Aires.

They won 35-17 last year, 36-10 in 2017, 36-17 in 2016.

Argentina: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Matías Moroni, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.
Replacements: 16 Julián Montoya, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Tomás Lezana, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Joaquín Díaz Bonilla, 23 Joaquín Tuculet.

Date: Saturday, July 20
Venue: Jose Amalfitani Stadium, Buenos Aires
Kick-off: 15.05 (18.05 GMT; 06.05 NZ time Sunday, July 21)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Alexandre Ruiz (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

PV: 1481

Foreign Power For Pumas - Argentina | Rugby365