Wed 24 Oct 2018 | 02:44

Kiwis and Saffas crowd Deans' World XV

Kiwis and Saffas crowd Deans' World XV
Wed 24 Oct 2018 | 02:44
Kiwis and Saffas crowd Deans' World XV

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The World XV that will play Japan this Friday has been named.

Robbie Deans’ squad will face Japan on October 26 at Osaka’s Hanazono Rugby Stadium.

The game is to mark the renewal of the iconic Hanazono ground.

New Zealand and South Africa – two of the six countries represented with the side – dominate the starting XV.

There are also a number of past and present internationals from Argentina, Australia, Japan and Tonga.

Former Springbok captain Adriaan Strauss has also been included in the team.

The hooker headlines a strong South African contingent which also includes Willie Britz, Harold Vorster, Corne Fourie, Hencus van Wyk, Lionel Cronje and Jason Jenkins.

Tonga is represented by former captain Nili Latu.

Argentina by Leonardo Senatore while there are two Australians in Sam Carter and Ben Alexander.

The squad also contains Ben Gunter and Keisuke Moriya from Deans’ Wild Knights side, the only two players in the squad who have not played in Super Rugby.

World XV: 15 Nehe Milner Skudder (Hurricanes), 14 Toni Pulu (Chiefs), 13 Harold Vorster (Lions/Wild Knights ), 12 Ma’a Nonu (Blues, New Zealand), 11 Tevita Li (Highlanders), 10 Lionel Cronje (Verblitz), 9 Andrew Ellis (Kobe, captain), 8 Leonardo Senatore (Jaguares), 7 Dillon Hunt (Highlanders), 6 Jackson Hemopo (Highlanders), 5 Jason Jenkins (Bulls/Verblitz), 4 Sam Carter (Brumbies), 3 Hencus van Wyk (Sunwolves/Sanix), 2 Adriaan Strauss (unattached), 1 Craig Millar (Sunwolves/Panasonic).
Replacements – from: Ricky Riccitelli (Hurricanes), Wyatt Crockett (Crusaders), Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Ben Gunter (Wild Knights), Willie Britz (Sunwolves/Shining Arcs), Augustine Pulu (Red Dolphins/Blues), Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias (Jaguares), Keisuke Moriya (Wild Knights), Nili Latu (Red Dolphins), Corne Fourie (Lions/Wild Knights).

Date: Friday, October 26
Venue: Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Osaka
Kick-off: 19.00 (10.00 GMT)
Referee: Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Damon Murphy (Australia)
TMO: Aaron Paterson (New Zealand)

PV: 988

Kiwis And Saffas Crowd Deans' World Xv - Argentina | Rugby365