Get Newsletter

Glimmer of hope for Wallabies as they see off gutsy Portugal

MATCH REPORT: Australia kept their faint hopes of reaching the World Cup knockout stages alive with an unconvincing 34-14 victory over minnows Portugal on Sunday.


Tries from forwards Richie Arnold, David Porecki, Angus Bell and Fraser McReight, and wing Marika Koroibete secured Australia a bonus point and a Pool C lifeline, while Portugal hit back through Pedro Bettencourt and Rafael Simoes.

The Wallabies can still reach the quarterfinals if Fiji lose to Portugal next week without a bonus point.

It was a poignant day for Wallaby prop James Slipper, who broke his country’s record for the most caps at a World Cup.

Portugal showed a fearlessness to run the ball from the get-go, even from deep inside their own half.

Despite an early penalty from Australia’s Ben Donaldson, Portugal deservedly took the lead when, playing with a penalty advantage.

A slick backs move set centre Bettencourt free on the overlap to dive over in the corner.


Samuel Marques converted but moments later Bettencourt hit his opposite number Izaia Perese with a high tackle and was sent to the sin-bin.

Donaldson missed the resulting penalty but Australia soon made the extra man count with Rob Valetini offloading to lock Arnold to score next to the posts.

Portugal became ragged, giving away possession cheaply and Wallaby captain Porecki punished them again, touching down from the back of a short-range driving maul.

And before Portugal were back up 15 men again, prop Bell launched himself at the line from close in to score Australia’s third try.


Once they had their full contingent back, the enterprising Portuguese were again the better side.

Portugal thought they had scored a richly deserved second try but Wallaby fullback Andrew Kellaway’s last-ditched tackle forced flanker Nicolas Martins into touch before he dotted down, leaving Australia 24-7 up at the break.

Verve and panache

Australia secured the attacking bonus point seven minutes into the second period after another Portugal penalty allowed them to kick deep into their opponents’ 22, before Mark Nawaqanitawase was able to pop the ball off for flank McReight to score.

Donaldson missed the conversion but Australia were well in control against their spirited opponents.

Yet Portugal continued to play with verve and panache and thought they had scored again when hooker Mike Tadjer was driven over, but he was ruled to have knocked on in the grounding.

Wallaby replacement hooker Matt Faessler was yellow-carded for an infringement in the driving maul but Portugal couldn’t capitalise and knocked on again metres from the line.

But then Wallaby replacement centre Samu Kerevi was sin-binned for a forearm smash into Bettencourt’s head and Australia were playing with 13 men.

Portugal kept coming and eventually they drove Australia back from a five-metre scrum and Rafael Simoes touched down.

Australia had the last word as Marika Koroibete ploughed over late on for their fifth try.

Man of the match: The award goes to Australia No.8 Rob Valetini, who has made the hard yards for his team in tough conditions. He made over 70 metres with ball in hand and he was a key player in defence as well.

The scorers:

For Australia:
Tries: Arnold, Porecki, Bell, McReight, Koroibete
Cons: Donaldson 3
Pen: Donaldson

For Portugal:
Tries: Bettencourt, Simoes
Cons: Marques 2

Yellow cards: Pedro Bettencourt (Portugal, 15′ – foul play, high tackle); Matt Faessler (Portugal, 60′ – cynical play, collapsing the maul); Samu Kerevi (Australia, 62′ – foul play, dangerous hand-off)


Australia: 15 Andrew Kellaway, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Ben Donaldson, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Tom Hooper, 5 Richie Arnold, 4 Nick Frost, 3 James Slipper, 2 David Porecki (captain), 1 Angus Bell.
Replacements: 16 Matt Faessler, 17 Blake Schoupp, 18 Pone Fa’amausili, 19 Rob Leota, 20 Josh Kemeny, 21 Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, 22 Samu Kerevi, 23 Suliasi Vunivalu.

Portugal: 15 Nuno Sousa Guedes, 14 Raffaele Storti, 13 Pedro Bettencourt, 12 Tomás Appleton (captain), 11 Rodrigo Marta, 10 Jerónimo Portela, 9 Samuel Marques, 8 Thibault de Freitas, 7 Nicolas Martins, 6 David Wallis, 5 Martim Belo, 4 José Madeira, 3 Diogo Hasse Ferreira, 2 Mike Tadjer, 1 David Costa.
Replacements: 16 Francisco Fernandes, 17 Duarte Diniz, 18 Francisco Bruno, 19 Steevy Cerqueira, 20 Rafael Simoes, 21 Joao Belo, 22 Joris Moura, 23 Manuel Cardoso Pinto.

Referee: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia)
Assistant Referees: Mathieu Raynal (France) & Andrea Piardi (Italy)
TMO: Joy Neville (England)

Join free

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 9

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Steelers | Full Match Replay

Write A Comment