Get Newsletter

VIDEO: Wallabies punish undisciplined All Blacks

VIDEO: Wallabies punish undisciplined All Blacks

RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP REPORT: Australia kept alive their hopes of winning the Bledisloe Cup with their biggest win ever over New Zealand.


The Wallabies outscored a 14-man All Black team by four six tries to four, to win 47-26 in Perth on Saturday.

It means Australia needs to draw or win in the return match in Auckland next week to win the Bledisloe Cup for the first time since 2002.

On display was a side of New Zealand not seldom seen – a lack of discipline, as they conceded twice as many penalties as the opposition and were reduced to 14 men on the stroke of half-time when lock Scott Barrett was red-carded for an ugly shoulder charge to the head-neck area of Wallaby captain Michael Hooper.

* Did you miss any of the action? To recap all the drama, CLICK HERE!

The Australians were given little chance of knocking off their arch-rivals, but delivered their best performance in years to make a statement with the World Cup starting next month.

It produced a record points haul for the Wallabies against their Trans-Tasman rivals, and the 47 points conceded by the All Blacks was the most in their history against any nation.

They must crack their first win in Auckland since 1986 to secure the prized Trans-Tasman trophy for the first time in 17 years.

In an extra sweetener, the All Blacks might surrender their world No.1 ranking to Wales for the first time since 2009, should the Welsh beat England later this weekend.


Before the red card Australia already had their tails up with a dominant first half and took a 16-12 lead into the break.

The Wallabies extended the margin to 26-12 early in the second half – with giant flank Lukhan Salakaia-Loto scoring before Samu Kerevi set up the second.

The bustling centre ran over the top of star All Blacks fullback Beauden Barrett before offloading to White.

Barrett exacted some revenge six minutes later when he darted through some flimsy Wallabies defence, with the conversion closing the gap to seven points.


But that was as close as the undermanned Kiwis could get as the scoreboard ticked over for Australia.

Reece Hodge scored his second try while fellow winger Marika Koroibete, who was equally as dangerous all night, also crossed.
Fullback Kurtley Beale iced the win with their sixth try in the 80th minute to allow the celebrations to begin.

Man of the match: Beauden Barrett had his moments, Ben Smith and Richie Mo’unga were both steady, Kieran Read put in a big shift and Ardie Savea was busy. All the Wallaby forwards were impressive – with Michael Hooper and Lukhan Salakaia-Loto the pick of the bunch. Samu Kerevi did some damage with his powerful charges, Kurtley Beale had some great moments on attack and Reece Hodge was good value for his double. However, when the game was still a contest in the first half, it was Australian scrumhalf Nic White that made a difference – adding something different on attack. That is why he wins our award.

Moment of the match: There is no doubt that the red card of New Zealand lock Scott Barrett in the 40th minute ended the match as a contest.

Villain of the match: There was plenty of niggle from a frustrated All Black team, but Scott Barrett is likely to face a ban for his ugly shoulder charge to the neck and head of Wallaby flank Michael Hooper – which earned him a red card.

The scorers:

For Australia:
Tries: Hodge 2, Salakaia-Loto, White, Koroibete, Beale
Cons: Lealiifano 2, Toomua 2
Pens: Lealiifano 3

For New Zealand:
Tries: Lienert-Brown, Ioane, B Barrett, Laumape
Cons: Mo’unga 3

Red card: Scott Barrett (New Zealand, 39 – foul play, shoulder charge to the neck-head area)


Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Reece Hodge, 13 James O’Connor, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Nic White, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 5 Rory Arnold, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Folau Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Taniela Tupou, 19 Adam Coleman, 20 Luke Jones, 21 Will Genia, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Tom Banks.

New Zealand: 15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Ardie Savea, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody.
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Atu Moli, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Thomas Perenara, 22 Ngani Laumape, 23 George Bridge.

Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Write A Comment