Get Newsletter

Borthwick reveals his latest 2024 selection hand

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: England coach Steve Borthwick named his team to play Japan at the National Stadium in Tokyo on Saturday.


Jamie George will captain England for the first official Test match between the two nations to be played in Japan.

The England skipper will be supported by four vice-captains: Maro Itoje, Ben Earl, Henry Slade and Joe Marler.

In the front row, George is named at hooker alongside Bevan Rodd at loosehead prop and Dan Cole at tighthead.

At lock, Itoje partners with George Martin.

The back row sees Chandler Cunningham-South on the blindside flank making his first Test start for England, with Sam Underhill at openside and Earl at No.8.


In the halfback berths, scrumhalf Alex Mitchell is paired with Marcus Smith at No.10.

The midfield sees Ollie Lawrence named at inside centre with Slade at No.13.

In the back three, Immanuel Feyi-Waboso starts on the right wing, with Tommy Freeman on the left and George Furbank selected at fullback to round off the starting line-up.

Amongst the replacements, Tom Roebuck will win his first England cap when he joins the action.


The Sale Sharks wing takes his place on the substitutes bench alongside Theo Dan, Joe Marler, Will Stuart, Charlie Ewels, Tom Curry, Harry Randall and Fin Smith.

“We’re looking forward to the challenge of playing Japan at their National Stadium,” said Borthwick.

“Conditions in Tokyo mean we’ll need to be accurate, keep our discipline, and maintain a level of intensity in our performance from the first whistle to the last.

“We will need to be at our very best against an opponent who will want to play fast.”

Additional England tour matches
July 6: v New Zealand, Dunedin. Kick-off: 17.05; 08.05 BST
July 13: v New Zealand, Auckland. Kick-off 17.05; 08.05 BST

England: 15 George Furbank, 14 Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Lawrence, 11 Tommy Freeman, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Alex Mitchell, 8 Ben Earl, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Chandler Cunningham-South, 5 George Martin, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Jamie George (captain), 1 Bevan Rodd.
Replacements: 16 Theo Dan, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Charlie Ewels, 20 Tom Curry, 21 Harry Randall, 22 Fin Smith, 23 Tom Roebuck.

Date: Saturday, June 22
Venue: National Stadium, Tokyo
Kick-off: 14.50 (06.50 BST; 05.50 GMT)
Referee: Luc Ramos (France)
Assistant referees: Eoghan Cross (Ireland), Angus Mabey (New Zealand)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (France)

Join free

England vs France | World Rugby U20 Championship Final | Full Match Replay

Scotland vs USA | U20 Trophy Final | Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Episode 15 | Extreme Golf Special

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 4

Before They Make It | South Africa

Before They Make It | England

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 22

Women's Six Nations winner to Paris Olympic sevens for Team GB | Ellie Kildunne | Stronger Than You Think | S3 Ep 2

Write A Comment