Sat 22 Dec 2018 | 02:50

Women's Six Nations

Women's Six Nations
Sat 22 Dec 2018 | 02:50
Women's Six Nations

Originally the Six Nations Championship was for senior men only. But recently it’s become less exclusive. The Under-20s have their Six Nations and others like clubs and students enjoy the ride on the bandwagon, and since 1996 there has been a Women’s Six Nations as well.

In 1982, the first women’s Test was played – between France and Holland in Utrecht, after which the growth of women’s rugby has grown rapidly, till now it mirrors the top men’s competitions in 15-a-side and Sevens.

In 1991 12 women’s international teams met in Wales for a Women’s World Cup. They did it again in Scotland in 1994. Neither was recognise by the International Rugby Board, aka World Rugby, but the next six Women’s World Cups have been recognised and the first two have been given retrospective recognition.

In 1996 the women’s International Championship had four teams – the Four Home Unions. In 1999 it became the Six Nations with the addition of France and Spain. In 2007 Italy replaced Spain in a competition which now fell under the Six Nations Committee.

In 2008 the women’s Six Nations got a new silver trophy, crafted by Thomas Lyte of London.

Women’s Six Nations Winners

New Zealand have dominated the Women’s World Cup, winning five out of eight (62%), and England have dominated the Six Nations, winning 14 out of 23 (61%).

1996: England, Grand Slam
1997: England, Grand Slam
1998: Scotland, Grand Slam
1999: England, Grand Slam
2000: England, Grand Slam
2001: England, Grand Slam
2002: France, Grand Slam
2003: England, Grand Slam
2004: France, Grand Slam
2005: France, Grand Slam
2006: England, Grand Slam
2007: England, Grand Slam
2008: England, Grand Slam
2009: England
2010: England, Grand Slam
2011: England, Grand Slam
2012: England, Grand Slam
2013: Ireland, Grand Slam
2014: France, Grand Slam
2015: Ireland
2016: France
2017: England, Grand Slam
2018: France, Grand Slam

PV: 376

Women's Six Nations - Canada | Rugby365