Get Newsletter

CONFIRMED: Disciplinary Committee says Jaco Peyper got it wrong

DISCIPLINARY UPDATE: England fullback Freddie Steward is free to resume playing after appearing before an independent Disciplinary Committee.

ADVERTISEMENT

Steward was sent off just before half-time in England’s 16-29 defeat to Ireland in the final round of the Six Nations.

South African referee Jaco Peyper gave Steward a red card for his collision with opposite number Hugo Keenan.

Keenan collided with Steward’s elbow just after stooping down to collect a loose ball. Steward appeared to stand his ground and brace for the collision, but his elbow connected with Keenan’s head.

Peyper decided there was not enough mitigation to avoid giving the red card.

In his disciplinary hearing, Steward “denied that he had committed an act of foul play worthy of a red card”.

And the independent Disciplinary Committee ruled in Steward’s favour by saying “there were sufficient mitigating factors including the late change in the dynamics and positioning of the opposing player which should have resulted in the issue of a yellow card rather than a red card”.

ADVERTISEMENT

Read the full disciplinary update below:


Independent Disciplinary update: Freddie Steward (England)

England fullback Freddie Steward appeared before an independent Disciplinary Committee via video link having received a red card in the Six Nations match between Ireland and England on Saturday 18th March 2023 played at the Aviva Stadium.

The Red Card was issued as a result of the Referee concluding that the Player had acted contrary to Law 9.13 (A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackling includes, but is not limited to, tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent above the line of the shoulders even if the tackle starts below the line of the shoulders).

The independent Disciplinary Committee consisting of Nigel Hampton KC – Chair (New Zealand), Frank Hadden (Scotland) and John Langford (Australia) heard the case, and considered all the available evidence, including multiple broadcast angles and submissions from the Player and his representative.

ADVERTISEMENT

After hearing the submissions, the Disciplinary Committee formally amended the Law which was breached to Law 9.11 (Players must not do anything that is reckless or dangerous to others including leading with the elbow or forearm, or jumping into, or over, a tackler).

The player denied that he had committed an act of foul play worthy of a red card as described in Law 9.11. Having reviewed all the evidence, the Committee decided that: (i) head contact with an opposing player had occurred; (ii) there had been an act of foul play in breach of Law 9.11 in that the Player had been reckless in his actions and in his upright positioning as he approached and came into highly dangerous contact with the other player; and (iii) there were sufficient mitigating factors including the late change in the dynamics and positioning of the opposing player which should have resulted in the issue of a yellow card rather than a red card.

On that basis, the Committee did not uphold the red card and the player is free to play again immediately.

The Committee acknowledged that match officials are required to make decisions under pressure and in the heat of a live match environment.

Join free

Walk the Talk | Damian de Allende | The Most Underrated Springbok

All Blacks | In Their Own Words S2 | Episode 1: The Final

The perfect pre-Olympic preparation for France! Men's HSBC SVNS Madrid Day Three Highlights

Australia finish with GOLD! Women's HSBC SVNS Madrid Day Three Highlights

Big Jim Post Match Show - Leinster Rugby vs Toulouse

Greatness | Dan Carter

Walk the Talk | Ardie Savea

Japan Rugby League One Grand Final | Wildknights vs Bravelupus | Full Match Replay

Write A Comment