Get Newsletter

He is back to lead England

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Flyhalf Owen Farrell will captain England against Chile on his return from a ban for this weekend’s World Cup Pool D game.


Farrell, 31, who has been banned since last month’s warm-up victory over Wales, is one of 12 changes head coach Steve Borthwick has made for Saturday’s game in Lille.

Saracens playmaker Farrell replaces the in-form George Ford for unbeaten England with Marcus Smith starting at full-back.

“One of the many great things about the Rugby World Cup is that the tournament provides an excellent opportunity to play against teams that we rarely have a chance to see,” Borthwick said in a statement.

“It is for that reason that we are particularly looking forward to testing ourselves against Chile on Saturday.

“Having watched our next opponent closely, we know that we will have to prepare and play well against a committed Chile team.

“As we head to the next round, it is only right that I once again pay tribute to our excellent supporters who I know will be right behind us in Lille this weekend,” the former England skipper added.


It will be the first time in his career that Harlequins’ Smith, 24, has started at full-back for either club or country.

In a much changed England side, Marcus Smith starts at fullback, Ollie Lawrence, Henry Arundell and Max Malins also come in, with Billy Vunipola and Jack Willis in the pack.

Wings Arundell and Malins will make their first appearances of the tournament, while prop Bevan Rodd and second row David Ribbans also earn their first World Cup minutes.

Hooker Theo Dan, second row George Martin and scrum-half Danny Care start for the first time in the campaign too.


England: 15 Marcus Smith, 14 Henry Arundell, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Ollie Lawrence, 11 Max Malins, 10 Owen Farrell (captain), 9 Danny Care, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Jack Willis, 6 Lewis Ludlam, 5 George Martin, 4 David Ribbans, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Theo Dan, 1 Bevan Rodd
Replacements: 16 Jack Walker, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Ollie Chessum, 20 Ben Earl, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 George Ford, 23 Joe Marchant

Chile: 15 Francisco Urroz; 14 Cristobal Game, 13 Domingo Saavedra, 12 Matias Garafulic, 11 Franco Velarde; 10 Rodrigo Fernandez, 9 Benjamin Videla; 8 Alfonso Escobar, 7 Ignacio Silva, 6 Martin Sigren (captain); 5 Javier Eismann, 4 Clemente Saavedra; 3 Matias Dittus, 2 Augusto Bohme, 1 Salvador Lues
Replacements: 16 Tomas Dussaillant, 17 Vittorio Lastra, 18 Inaki Gurruchaga, 19 Pablo Huete, 20 Thomas Orchard, 21 Raimundo Martinez, 22 Lukas Carvallo, 23 Inaki Ayarza

Date: Saturday, September, 23
Venue: Stade Pierre-Mauroy, Lille
Kick-off: 17.45 (15.45 GMT, 12.45 CLST)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Pierre Brousset (France), Andrea Piardi (Italy)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Additional source @WorldRugby

Join free

Boks Office | Episode 14 | South Africa v Ireland Review Live

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 21

South Africa v England | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Pool C Full Match Replay

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 3

France v Wales | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Pool A Full Match Replay

Walk the Talk | Brodie Retallick | The King of the Skies

Before They Make It | Ireland

Basta Show | S2 EP 7 | Rabah Slimani

Write A Comment