Mon 11 Mar 2019 | 12:24

U20 6N: Ireland Already Champions

U20 6N: Ireland Already Champions
Mon 11 Mar 2019 | 12:24
U20 6N: Ireland Already Champions

With four wins out of four, Ireland have already secured the Under-20 Six Nations championship for 2019 and need to beat Wales to secure the Grand Slam.

This follows their close and thrilling encounter with France, the reigning Six Nations Champions and World Rugby Junior Champions.

The Log after Round 4

1. Ireland with 18 points
2. France with 12 points
3. England with 11 points
4. Wales with 10 points
5. Scotland with 6 points
6. Italy with 5 points


Round 1
Ireland vs England 35-27
Italy vs Scotland, 32-22
France vs Wales, 32-10

Round 2
Ireland vs Scotland, 24-5
Wales vs Italy, 42-12
England vs France, 31-19

Round 3
Wales vs England, 11-10
Ireland vs Italy, 34-14
France vs Scotland, 42-27

Round 4
Ireland vs France, 31-29
Scotland vs Wales, 27-20
England vs Italy, 35-10

Fixtures for Round 5

The matches will be played on Friday, 15 March 2019

Wales vs Ireland at Stadium Zip World (Parc Eirias), Colwyn Bay
Italy vs France at Stadio Pozzi La Marmora, Piedmont
England vs Scotland at Franklin’s Gardens, Northampton

Round 4 Details

Ireland vs France at Irish Independent Park, Cork

It really was a thriller before some 8 000 spectators in cold Cork in Ireland’s deep south.

At half-time France led 14-13 and in fact they scored four tries to three. The boot of flyhalf Ben Healy was the winning difference. It was the first time that Healy had started for Ireland. He came in after the late withdrawal of regular flyhalf Harry Byrne because of injury.

Prop Callum Reid was a substitution in the second half when he scored Ireland’s third try.

Ireland were leading 31-22 when Kévin Villard scored a try and Louis Carbonel converted to make it 31-29 with less than a minute to play.


For Ireland:
Tries: Wycherley 2, Reid
Cons: Healy 2
Pens: Healy 4

For France:
Tries: Gros, Carbonel 2, Viallard
Cons: Carbonel 3
Pen: Carbonel


Ireland: 15 Jake Flannery, 14 Angus Kernohan, 13 Liam Turner, 12 Sean French, 11 Jonathan Wren, 10 Ben Healy, 9 Craig Casey, 8 John Hodnett, 7 Scott Penny, 6 Martin Moloney, 5 Niall Murray, 4 Charlie Ryan (captain), 3 Thomas Clarkson, 2 Dylan Tierney-Martin, 1 Josh Wycherley
Replacements: 16 John McKee, 17 Callum Reid, 18 Ryan Lomas, 19 Ryan Baird, 20 David McCann, 21 Cormac Foley, 22 Rob Russell, 23 James McCarthy

France: 15 Alexandre De Nardi, 14 Vincent Pinto, 13 Arthur Vincent (captain), 12 Simon Desaubies, 11 Matthis Lebel, 10 Louis Carbonel, 9 Quintin Delord, 8 Jordan Joseph, 7 Sacha Zegueur, 6 Paul Boudehent, 5 Florent Vanverberghe, 4 Gauthier Maravat, 3 Alex Burin, 2 Rayne Barka, 1 Jean-Baptiste Gros
Replacements: 16 Loris Zarantonello, 17 Eli Eglaine, 18 Giorgi Beria, 19 Adrien Warion, 20 Maxence Lemardelet, 21 Kévin Viallard, 22 Mathieu Smaïli, 23 Ethan Dumortier

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys (England)
Assistant referees: Adam Leal (England), George Selwood (England)
Television match official: Stuart Terheege (England)
Timekeeper: Harry Booker (Ireland)
Citing commissioner: John Byett (England)

Scotland vs Wales at Meggetland Stadium, Edinburgh

This 27-20  defeat was a massive blow for Wales as it ended their hopes of winning the championship. It certainly was unexpected as Wales had won two matches, Scotland none when they went into the match.

The results actually flatters Wales as the tries by substitutes Will Griffiths and Sam Costelow came late in the match, the latter in the last minute.

Scotland led 19-6 at half-time after three tries by Connor Boyle, Robbie McCallum and Rory McMichael. And when Jack Blain scored early in the second half they had their bonus point.


For Scotland:
Tries: Boyle, McCallum, McMichael, Blain
Cons: Thompson 2
Pen: Thompson

For Wales:
Tries: Griffith, Costelow
Cons: Evans 2
Pens: Evans 2


Scotland: 15 Matt Davidson, 14 Rory McMichael, 13 Cameron Anderson, 12 Robbie McCallum, 11 Jack Blain, 10 Ross Thompson, 9 Roan Frostwick, 8 Kwagga van Niekerk, 7 Connor Boyle (captain), 6 Charlie Jupp, 5 Cameron Henderson, 4 Ewan Johnson, 3 Euan McLaren, 2 Ewan Ashman, 1 Murphy Walker
Replacements: 16 Angus Fraser, 17 Andrew Nimmo, 18 Will Hurd, 19 Ross Bundy, 20 Jack Mann, 21 Murray Scott, 22 Nathan Chamberlain, 23 Ollie Smith

Wales: 15 Ioan Davies, 14 Alex Morgan, 13 Max Llewellyn, 12 Aneurin Owen, 11 Dewi Cross, 10 Cai Evans, 9 Dafydd Buckland, 8 Iestyn Rees, 7 Jac Morgan, 6 Ellis Thomas, 5 Jac Price, 4 Teddy Williams, 3 Ben Warren, 2 Dewi Lake (captain), 1 Kemsley Mathias
Replacements: 16 Will Griffiths, 17 Tom Devine, 18 Nick English, 19 Ed Scragg, 20 Ioan Rhys Davies, 21 Harri Morgan, 22 Sam Costelow, 23 Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler

Referee: Joy Neville (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Stuart Gaffkin (Ireland), Robert O’Sullivan (Ireland)
Assessor: Gary Welsh (England)

England vs Italy at Bedford RFC, Godlington Road, Bedford

At half-time England were leading only 12-10. Centre Tom Seabrook was first to score but then Italy’s tries, by Federico Mori and Michele Peruzzo, gave the visitors a 10-7 lead till a try by flyhalf Kieran Wilkinson gave his side the half-time lead.

England were the only scorers in the second half, winning 35-10.


For England:
Tries: Seabrook, Wilkinson, Fox, Sleightholme
Cons: Wilkinson, Hodge 2
Pens: Hodge 2, Vunipola

For Italy:
Tries: Mori, Peruzzo


England: 15 Josh Hodge, 14 Ollie Sleightholme, 13 Tom Seabrook, 12 Tom de Glanville, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Kieran Wilkinson, 9 Ollie Fox, 8 Rusiate Tuima, 7 Aaron Hinkley, 6 Tom Willis, 5 James Scott, 4 Joel Kpoku, 3 Alfie Petch, 2 Nic Dolly, 1 Olly Adkins
Replacements: 16 Samson Ma’asi, 17 Kai Owen, 18 Jack Bartlett, 19 Alex Coles, 20 Richard Capstick, 21 Sam Maunder, 22 Manu Vunipola*, 23 Jack Reeves
* Manu Vunipola was born in New Zealand of Togan descent and is the cousing of England players Billy and Mako and the nephew of Manu Vunipola, the Tongan minister of sport.

Italy: 15 Michele Peruzzo, 14 Cristian Lai, 13 Federico Mori, 12 Damiano Mazza, 11 Michael Mba, 10 Paolo Garbisi, 9 Lorenzo Citton, 8 Mirco Finotto, 7 Davide Ruggeri, 6 Andrea Chianucci, 5 Thomas Parolo, 4 Cristian Stoian, 3 Matteo Nocera, 2 Andrej Marinello, 1 Matteo Drudi
Replacements: 16 Marco Bonanni, 17 Lorenzo Michelini, 18 Filippo Alongi, 19 Marco Butturini, 20 Davide Goldin, 21 Gianmarco Piva, 22 Giacomo Da Re, 23 Matteo Moscardi

Referee: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia)
Television match official: Leo Colgan (Ireland)

PV: 188

U20 6n: Ireland Already Champions - England | Rugby365