Get Newsletter

VIDEO: Borthwick reveals his Calcutta Cup hand

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Steve Borthwick has named his first England side – to take on Scotland in their Six Nations opener at Twickenham on Saturday.


Ollie Hassell-Collins will make his England debut at left wing.

Max Malins returns to the side at right wing and Freddie Steward is fullback.

Owen Farrell will captain the side at inside centre and Joe Marchant comes in at outside centre.

Marcus Smith is at flyhalf, with Jack van Poortvliet at scrumhalf.

In the front row vice-captain Ellis Genge joins Kyle Sinckler at prop and hooker Jamie George.

Maro Itoje and Ollie Chessum start at lock.


Ben Curry will make his second appearance for England at openside flank, alongside Lewis Ludlam.

Alex Dombrandt completes the starting XV at No.8.

Jack Walker is in line to make his England debut after being named as substitute.

Anthony Watson could also make his first England appearance following his injury in March 2021.


Dan Cole is also named as substitute and could earn his 96th Test cap.

They are joined by Mako Vunipola, Nick Isiekwe, Ben Earl, Ben Youngs and Ollie Lawrence.

* (Article continues below …)

“There are few fixtures in the calendar that excite both players and supporters alike more than the annual Six Nations meeting of the Auld Enemy as they battle for the honour of lifting the Calcutta Cup,” Borthwick said.

“Another packed Twickenham will witness the start of the next chapter of English rugby in one of the most keenly contested tournaments in the world.

“There is no doubt that this England team shares the supporters’ sense of eager anticipation.

“To a man, the players are determined to play with the commitment, fight and desire that is at the very heart of representing England, the sort of passion that our tremendous supporters rightly expect.”

England: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Max Malins, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Owen Farrell (captain), 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Jack van Poortvliet, 8 Alex Dombrandt, 7 Ben Curry, 6 Lewis Ludlam, 5 Ollie Chessum, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Jamie George, 1 Ellis Genge.
Replacements: 16 Jack Walker, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Dan Cole, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Ben Earl, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Ollie Lawrence, 23 Anthony Watson.

Date: Saturday, February 4
Venue: Twickenham Stadium, London
Kick-off: 16.45 (16.45 GMT)
Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand) & James Doleman (New Zealand)
TMO: Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)

Kevin Sinfield with quote

Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment