Get Newsletter

Feyi-Waboso to wing it for England against Ireland

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Immanuel Feyi-Waboso is set to make his first England start after coach Steve Borthwick made three personnel changes to his side for Saturday’s Six Nations clash at home to Ireland.


Exeter wing Feyi-Waboso, who has won two caps as a replacement, replaces benched veteran back Elliot Daly after scoring a late try as a substitute during England’s 21-30 defeat to Scotland in Edinburgh last month.

Tommy Freeman switches from right wing to left wing as England, who finished third at last year’s World Cup, look to return to winning ways following victories over Italy and Wales in the opening two rounds of the Six Nations.

Fit-again scrumhalf Alex Mitchell is recalled after missing the Calcutta Cup loss due to a knee injury, with Danny Care in line to win his 100th cap off the bench.

Flyhalf Marcus Smith has also been included on the bench.

In the pack, Ollie Chessum moves from lock to blindside flank in place of Ethan Roots, with George Martin now partnering Maro Itoje in the second row.


Defeat by Scotland ended England’s hopes of a Grand Slam.

By contrast Six Nations champions Ireland, coached by former England dual code international Andy Farrell, will arrive at Twickenham knowing a bonus-point win would secure consecutive titles with a game to spare.

Ireland, who have won their last three Championship matches against England, are also bidding to become the first team in the Six Nations era to record back-to-back Grand Slams.

England: 15 George Furbank, 14 Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Lawrence, 11 Tommy Freeman, 10 George Ford, 9 Alex Mitchell, 8 Ben Earl, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Ollie Chessum, 5 George Martin, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Jamie George (captain), 1 Ellis Genge.
Replacements: 16 Theo Dan, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Chandler Cunningham-South, 20 Alex Dombrandt, 21 Danny Care, 22 Marcus Smith, 23 Elliot Daly.


Date: Saturday, March 9
Venue: Twickenham Stadium, London
Kick-off: 16.45 (16.45 GMT)
Referee: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia)
Assistant referees: Andrea Piardi (Italy), Craig Evans (Wales)
TMO: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)

Join free

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 9

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Steelers | Full Match Replay

Write A Comment