Get Newsletter

Bok star nominated for World Rugby Player of the Year

AWARDS: World Rugby has unveiled the nominees for the prestigious Player of the Year award, which will be presented in Monaco on Sunday.


The four nominees are Lukhanyo Am (South Africa), Antoine Dupont (France), Johnny Sexton and Josh van der Flier (both Ireland)

Dupont and Sexton are both previous winners of the award.

Dupont, who won the most recent award in 2021, helped France to a men’s Six Nations Grand Slam, scoring tries against Ireland and England.

Sexton, named Player of the Year in 2018, and first-time nominee Josh van der Flier were part of the Ireland team that claimed an historic series win against the All Blacks in New Zealand.

Lukhanyo Am is also nominated for the first time, having helped the Springboks to a series win against Wales earlier this year.

The Springbok centre has been out of action since August with a knee injury.


“Lukhanyo was in superb form for the Springboks before an unfortunate injury cut short his season, and he has cemented his place in our backline over the last few seasons, growing in confidence and playing better every year,” said SA Rugby president Mark Alexander.

Meanwhile, the nominees for the World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year award have also been revealed.

Rugby World Cup 2021 winners Portia Woodman and Ruahei Demant are among the nominees for this prestigious award.


Woodman, who scored seven tries in New Zealand to take her tournament tally to a record 20, could win the award for a second time, while first-time nominee Demant was named Player of the Match in their final victory against England.

Canada skipper Sophie de Goede, who had a huge impact in New Zealand, and England flank Alex Matthews, who started every match for England during both the Women’s Six Nations and RWC 2021, are also in contention.

Laure Sansus is nominated for the second successive year, meaning a French scrumhalf has been on the shortlist for the last four Women’s Player of the Year awards.


World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year:

  • Maud Muir (ENG)
  • Vitalina Naikore (FIJ)
  • Maiakawanakaulani Roos (NZL)
  • Ruby Tui (NZL)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year:

  • Henry Arundell (ENG)
  • Ange Capuozzo (ITA)
  • Mack Hansen (IRE)
  • Dan Sheehan (IRE)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year:

  • Henry Arundell (ENG)
  • Ange Capuozzo (ITA)
  • Mack Hansen (IRE)
  • Dan Sheehan (IRE)

World Rugby Coach of the Year:

  • Andy Farrell, Ireland Men’s 15s  
  • Fabien Galthié, France Men’s 15s  
  • Simon Middleton England Women’s 15s  
  • Wayne Smith, New Zealand Women’s 15s  

International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year:

  • Sylvia Brunt (New Zealand v Wales on 16 October) 
  • Emily Chancellor (Australia, v England on 30 October) 
  • Abby Dow (England v Canada on 5 November)
  • Linda Djougang (Ireland, v Wales on 26 March) 
  • Nomawethu Mabenge (South Africa, v Spain on 12 August) 

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year:

  • Rodrigo Fernandez (Chile, v USA on 9 July) 
  • Lalakai Foketi (Australia v France on 5 November)
  • Chris Harris (Scotland, v Italy on 12 March) 
  • Edoardo Padovani (Italy, v Wales on 19 March) 
  • Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales, v South Africa on 2 July) 

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year:

  • Charlotte Caslick (AUS)
  • Maddison Levi (AUS)
  • Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe (IRE)
  • Faith Nathan (AUS)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year:

  • Terry Kennedy (IRE)
  • Nick Malouf (AUS)
  • Kaminieli Rasaku (FIJ)
  • Corey Toole (AUS)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year:

  • Lukhanyo Am (RSA)
  • Antoine Dupont (FRA)
  • Johnny Sexton (IRE)
  • Josh van der Flier (IRE)

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year:

  • Sophie de Goede (CAN)
  • Ruahei Demant (NZL)
  • Alex Matthews (ENG)
  • Laure Sansus (FRA)
  • Portia Woodman (NZL)

Categories to be awarded on Sunday, November 20

  • World Rugby Referee Award
  • International Rugby Players Special Merit Award
  • Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service
  • World Rugby Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year
  • World Rugby Women’s 15s Dream Team of the Year

Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment