Thu 29 Aug 2019 | 12:18

Navidi leads new-look Wales against Ireland

Navidi leads new-look Wales against Ireland
Thu 29 Aug 2019 | 12:18
Navidi leads new-look Wales against Ireland

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Wales have named two uncapped players in their side to face Ireland in Cardiff on Saturday with prop Rhys Carre and wing Owen Lane both set to make their international debuts.

Carre and Lane, who played in the same Wales age-grade sides together, will feature for Wales for the first time in a side captained by Josh Navidi.

Carre will pack down in the front row alongside Scarlets pair Ryan Elias and Samson Lee. Ospreys duo Adam Beard and Bradley Davies form the second-row partnership.

Aaron Shingler and James Davies are named in the back row alongside captain Navidi.

Jarrod Evans makes his first start for Wales and links up with Aled Davies at halfback. Owen Watkin and Scott Williams line up in the centre with Lane, Steff Evans and Hallam Amos making up the back-three.

“It is a great opportunity for Rhys and Owen, they have worked hard all summer to get to this point so it will be good for them to get their first international caps and put their hands up for RWC selection after the match,” said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

“For Josh, it’s a huge honour to be named captain, he has been hugely consistent for us, he has really impressed in the last couple of seasons and he will lead from the front of Saturday and it is a great compliment for him to be awarded the captaincy.

“Saturday is a really big game for the players and I’m really excited about the challenge for this Welsh team. There is so much at stake in terms of RWC selection and with a number of positions still up for grabs it will be a huge game.”

Elliot Dee, Rob Evans and Leon Brown provide the front-row cover with Jake Ball and Ross Moriarty completing the forward contingent. Tomos Williams, Rhys Patchell and Jonah Holmes are named as the backline cover.

Wales: 15 Hallam Amos, 14 Owen Lane, 13 Scott Williams, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Aled Davies, 8 Josh Navidi (captain), 7 James Davies, 6 Aaron Shingler, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Bradley Davies, 4 Adam Beard, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Rhys Carre.
Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rob Evans, 18 Leon Brown, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Jonah Holmes.

Date: Saturday, August 31
Venue: Principality Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 14.30 (13.30 GMT)
Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant referees: Jérôme Garcès (France), Karl Dickson (England)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)

PV: 544

Navidi Leads New-look Wales Against Ireland - Ireland | Rugby365