Mon 25 Jun 2012 | 03:51

SA Students win in Windhoek

SA Students win in Windhoek
Mon 25 Jun 2012 | 03:51
SA Students win in Windhoek

Beaten in Port Elizabeth by the Eastern Province Kings, the South African Students, chosen from Varsity Cup players though without champions Tukkies, beat Namibia 34-24 at the National Rugby Stadium in sunny but cool Windhoek on Saturday afternoon.

Namibia are in the process of recovering from maladministration and preparing for their first World Cup Qualifier, against Madagascar. Namibia are in a group with Madagascar, Morocco and Senegal and will be part of a tournament in Madagascar.

The SA Students were on top right from the start as André Smith beat two defenders to score. Flyhalf Francois du Toit converted. 7-0 after two minutes.

Namibia then attacked the Students over and over again and had to be satisfied with a penalty by flyhalf Theuns 'Worsie' Kotze – himself a Varsity Cup star – but Du Toit goaled one himself to make it 10-3.

Namibia had a golden chance to score when eighthman PJ van Lill broke and flank Tinus du Plessis carried it on but a knock-on by substitute Arthur Bouwer put paid to any hope of points.

Du Plessis is the captain of the side and will lead them in Madagascar but on 14 July he leaves to clock in at London Wasps.

The Students scored first in the second half when lock Hugo Kloppers as the Students bashed at close quarters and then Smith scored his second try. The Students now led 22-3.

Namibia mauled an attacking line-out and Du Plessis scored. 22-10 but the Students then scored two quick tries – the first by prop John-Roy Jenkinson, the second by replacement Divan van Zyl after Justin Wheeler counter-attacked. 34-10

In the last nine minutes of the match, Namibia scored two tries, both generated by left wing Chrysander Botha. Right wing Danie Dames scored the first and Botha himself the second in the final minute of the match.

The scorers:

For the SA Students:
Tries: Smith 2, Kloppers, Jenkinson, Van Zyl
Cons: F du Toit (flyhalf), Kemp 2
Pens: Du Toit (flyhalf)

For Namibia:
Tries: Du Plessis, Dames, Botha
Cons: Kotze 3
Pens: Kotze

The teams:

SA Students: 15 André Smith (Maties), 14 Rian Arends (Wits), 13 Mark Hodskiss (Maties), 12 Joubert Engelbrecht (Pukke), 11 Joe Seerane (Pukke), 10 Francois du Toit (Shimlas), 9 Rudi Paige (UJ), 8 Justin Wheeler (UJ) (captain), 7 Helmut Lehmann (Maties), 6 Sam Mbombo (Maties), 5 Hugo Kloppers (Maties), 4 Siyanda Ndlovu (Pukke),3 John Roy Jenkinson (Pukke), 2 Francois du Toit (UJ), 1 Westley Chetty (Ikeys).
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach (Ikeys), 17 Os Hamman (Maties), 18 Marnus van Huysteen (UJ), 19 Fanie van der Walt (Shimlas), 20 Pieter Rademan (Shimlas), 21 André Kemp (Maties), 22 Divan van Zyl (UJ).

Coaches: Chean Roux, Brent Janse van Rensburg, Elliot Fana

Namibia: 15 Justin Nel, 14 Danie Dames, 13 Anthony Jevu, 12 Roger Thompson, 11 Chrysander Botha, 10 Theuns Kotzé, Eugene Jantjies (vice-captain), 8 PJ van Lill, 7 Morné Blom, 6 Tinus du Plessis (captain), 5 Heinz Koll, 4 Henk Franken, 3 Collen Smith, 2 Callie Swanepoel, 1 Johnny Redelinghuys.
Replacements: 16 Martin Goeieman, 17 Shaun du Preez, 18 Herold Kasera, 19 Petrus Human, 20 Arthur Bouwer, 21 Lean Stoop, 22 Godwin Walters.

Coach: Danie Vermeulen

Referee: Danie Koen
Assistant referees: Jacky Husselmann, Oscar Lambert

PV: 19

Sa Students Win In Windhoek - Namibia | Rugby365