Get Newsletter

Scotland coach: 'The win was taken away'

REACTION: Scotland coach Gregor Townsend said he could not understand the decision not to award his side a try that would have beaten France with the final act of a controversial Six Nations clash on Saturday.


The visitors clung on to win 20-16 at Murrayfield as the TMO and referee Nic Berry decided not to award a try despite Sam Skinner appearing to ground the ball on the line.

Berry had initially ruled no try on the field and said there was not enough conclusive evidence to overturn that decision.

“We were celebrating in the coaching box having seen the pictures [of the ball] being placed on the tryline,” said Townsend.

“I don’t understand the rationale when you see the pictures and hear the conversation between them [referee and TMO]. They have said the ball is placed on the tryline.”

Scotland had led for most of the match after going in front through Ben White’s early try and three Finn Russell penalties.


Gael Fickou’s score reduced France’s deficit in the first half and they went in front for the first time in the game 10 minutes from time when Thomas Ramos converted a brilliant individual try by Louis Bielle-Biarrey.

Ramos added a penalty to stretch the lead to four points before Scotland appeared to have snatched victory at the death to back up a thrilling 27-26 win over Wales last weekend.

“The emotions were what a fantastic win, what a team to come back, great victory for our supporters and it is taken away from you,” added Townsend on what he thought about the late call.


Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment