Kolisi 'warned' for headbutt
DISCIPLINARY UPDATE: Springbok captain Siya Kolisi escaped with a warning after striking an opponent with his head during the match between the Springboks and Scotland at Murrayfield.
Television footage appeared to show Kolisi’s head making contact with the head of Peter Horne as he tried to extricate himself from being pinned to the floor by the Scotland centre towards the end of a pulsating Edinburgh encounter.
Kolisi was not punished for the incident which referee Romain Poite, his assistant and the television match official all missed.
South Africa won the match 26-20.
So…first there was Owen Farrell who got away with his no-arms tackle and then this in 30th min…
Are we sweeping in front of every door or only where we feel it suits us? #askingasaloverofrugby
Video credit: @JLyall93 pic.twitter.com/NHoHc7YcbM
— TheYellowCap (@theyellowcap) November 18, 2018
“Siya Kolisi (South Africa) has received a Citing Commissioner Warning from Citing Commissioner David Pelton (USA) for striking with the head (Law 9.12) during the 31st minute of the Scotland versus South Africa November test at Murrayfield on 17 November,” said a World Rugby statement.
“Having reviewed the video angles, the Citing Commissioner determined that there were mitigating factors which meant that the action did not meet the red card threshold, including the player being illegally prevented from re-joining the play by Scotland’s Peter Horne and the moderate force of the strike to the side of the head. The match officials did not see the incident at the time on the field of play.
“Under World Rugby Regulation 17, a Citing Commissioner Warning is issued for offences falling just short of a RC and, or similarly to cards, will form part of the player’s disciplinary record.”