Get Newsletter

Leinster maul Tigers to book home ground advantage

MATCH REPORT: Caelan Doris was the hero for Leinster, scoring their fourth try to secure a bonus point and home advantage in the knockout stage after a 27-10 win over Leicester Tigers.


Leinster went into the match knowing they had already qualified for the Round of 16, while Leicester Tigers needed at least a point to secure their own place in the knockout stage.

And they came out roaring in a lively first half, with a try from flank Hanro Liebenberg, plus a conversion and penalty from Handre Pollard in the opening 20 minutes.

But Leinster hit back, with a Harry Byrne penalty and a Joe McCarthy try plus a Byrne conversion levelling up the scores.

And they went ahead as wing Jordan Larmour picked up a bouncing ball and cut in down the right, wrongfooting Ollie Hassell-Collins to cross the line.

The visitors continued to push after the break but could only add a try from hooker Dan Sheehan, again converted by Byrne – that was until the clock ticked into the fifth minute of added time when No.8 Doris finally forced his way over the line.

The scorers


For Leicester Tigers
Try: Liebenberg
Con: Pollard
Pen: Pollard

For Leinster
Tries: McCarthy, Larmour, Sheehan
Cons: Byrne 2
Pen: Byrne

Yellow cards: Tom Whiteley (Leicester Tigers, 42), Jack Conan (Leinster, 65)



Leicester Tigers: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Harry Simmons, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Dan Kelly, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Tom Whiteley, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Tommy Reffell, 6 Hanro Liebenberg, 5 Ollie Chessum, 4 Harry Wells, 3 Joe Heyes, 2 Julián Montoya (captain), 1 James Cronin.
Replacements: 16 Archie Vanes, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Will Hurd, 19 Sam Carter, 20 Kyle Hatherell, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Jamie Shillcock, 23 Solomone Kata.

Leinster: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Jordan Larmour, 13 Garry Ringrose (co-captain), 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 James Lowe, 10 Harry Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Ryan Baird, 5 James Ryan (co-captain), 4 Joe McCarthy, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Andrew Porter.
Replacements: 16 Rónan Kelleher, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Michael Ala’alatoa, 19 Ross Molony, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Sam Prendergast, 23 Tommy O’Brien.

Referee: Andrea Piardi (Italy)
Assistant referees: Filippo Russo (Italy), Clara Munarini (Italy)
TMO: Matteo Liperini (Italy)

Source: @ChampionsCup

Join free

Walk the Talk | Ardie Savea | Trailer

New Zealand v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Munich Day Two Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Krakow Day Two Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Wildknights v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Bravelupus v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment