stdClass Object ( [code] => 2 [response] => Invalid argument, 'thread': Unable to find thread 'ident:44939' )Three Changes For Namibia | Rugby365
  • Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Sat 24 Sep 2011 | 12:00

Three changes for Namibia

Three changes for Namibia
Sat 24 Sep 2011 | 12:00

Three changes for Namibia


Namibian coach Johan Diergaardt on Saturday made three changes to his starting line-up for what will be the Welwitschias’ final match at the World Cup, a game against Wales in New Plymouth on Monday.

Hugo Horn returns at hooker and has the unwelcome possibility of equalling the record for losing most World Cup matches.

He has now lost all 10 that he has played in and the record is 11 by Romeo Gontineac, who is also the current coach of Romania.

Jané du Toit, at 35 the oldest player to represent Namibia at the World Cup, starts at prop in what has been billed as his farewell match.

“We’re definitely going out with a positive outlook. We’re going out to try to win. Even if it sounds impossible, we have to go out and try to win,” skipper Jacques Burger said.

“We have to play rugby like a winning side. That means less mistakes, sort out first phase ball and keep the ball in hand.”

Namibia: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Danie Van Wyk, 13 Piet Van Zyl, 12 Darryl De La Harpe, 11 Danie Dames, 10 Theuns Kotze, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 Jacques Nieuwenhuis, 7 Jacques Burger (captain), 6 Tinus Du Plessis, 5 Nico Esterhuyse, 4 Heinz Koll, 3 Jané du Toit, 2 Hugo Horn, 1 Johnnie Redelinghuys.
Replacements: 16 Bertus O’Callaghan, 17 Raoul Larson, 18 Wacca Kazombiaze, 19 Rohan Kitshoff, 20 Ryan de la Harpe, 21 TC Losper, 22 David Philander.

Date: Monday, September 26
Venue: Stadium Taranaki, New Plymouth
Kick-off: 19.30 (06.30 GMT)
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland), Carlo Damasco (Italy)
TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)C


PV: 9
Three Changes For Namibia | Rugby365