Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyPass Match Centre
Scores
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
Bulls BUL Sharks SHA Sat
26 Sep
4:25pm SAST
Lions LIO Stormers STO Sat
26 Sep
6:55pm SAST
Wellington WEL Bay of Plenty BAY Fri
25 Sep
9:00am SAST
Tasman TAS Waikato WAI Sat
26 Sep
4:00am SAST
Southland SOU North Harbour HAR Sat
26 Sep
6:15am SAST
Hawke's Bay HAW Canterbury CAN Sat
26 Sep
9:00am SAST
Auckland AUC Manawatu MAN Sun
27 Sep
3:00am SAST
Taranaki TAR Otago OTA Sun
27 Sep
3:00am SAST
Counties COU Northland NOR Sun
27 Sep
5:15am SAST
Bay of Plenty BAY Auckland AUC Fri
2 Oct
8:00am SAST
Counties COU Manawatu MAN Sat
3 Oct
3:00am SAST
Northland NOR Taranaki TAR Sat
3 Oct
5:15am SAST
Canterbury CAN Wellington WEL Sat
3 Oct
8:00am SAST
Southland SOU Waikato WAI Sun
4 Oct
3:00am SAST
North Harbour HAR Tasman TAS Sun
4 Oct
3:00am SAST
Otago OTA Hawke's Bay HAW Sun
4 Oct
5:15am SAST
Manawatu MAN Canterbury CAN Fri
9 Oct
8:00am SAST
Taranaki TAR Auckland AUC Sat
10 Oct
3:00am SAST
Wellington WEL Otago OTA Sat
10 Oct
5:15am SAST
Waikato WAI Counties COU Sat
10 Oct
8:00am SAST
Tasman TAS Bay of Plenty BAY Sun
11 Oct
3:00am SAST
North Harbour HAR Hawke's Bay HAW Sun
11 Oct
3:00am SAST
Northland NOR Southland SOU Sun
11 Oct
5:15am SAST
Hawke's Bay HAW Northland NOR Fri
16 Oct
8:00am SAST
Manawatu MAN Bay of Plenty BAY Sat
17 Oct
3:00am SAST
Auckland AUC Tasman TAS Sat
17 Oct
5:15am SAST
Southland SOU Taranaki TAR Sat
17 Oct
8:00am SAST
Canterbury CAN Waikato WAI Sun
18 Oct
3:00am SAST
Otago OTA Counties COU Sun
18 Oct
3:00am SAST
Wellington WEL North Harbour HAR Sun
18 Oct
5:15am SAST
Otago OTA Northland NOR Fri
23 Oct
8:00am SAST
Bay of Plenty BAY Canterbury CAN Sat
24 Oct
3:00am SAST
Hawke's Bay HAW Manawatu MAN Sat
24 Oct
5:15am SAST
North Harbour HAR Auckland AUC Sat
24 Oct
8:00am SAST
Tasman TAS Southland SOU Sun
25 Oct
3:00am SAST
Counties COU Wellington WEL Sun
25 Oct
3:00am SAST
Waikato WAI Taranaki TAR Sun
25 Oct
5:15am SAST
Canterbury CAN Otago OTA Fri
30 Oct
8:00am SAST
Wellington WEL Tasman TAS Sat
31 Oct
3:00am SAST
Northland NOR North Harbour HAR Sat
31 Oct
5:15am SAST
Auckland AUC Waikato WAI Sat
31 Oct
8:00am SAST
Bay of Plenty BAY Hawke's Bay HAW Sun
1 Nov
3:00am SAST
Manawatu MAN Southland SOU Sun
1 Nov
3:00am SAST
Taranaki TAR Counties COU Sun
1 Nov
5:15am SAST
Southland SOU Otago OTA Fri
6 Nov
8:00am SAST
Auckland AUC Northland NOR Sat
7 Nov
3:00am SAST
North Harbour HAR Counties COU Sat
7 Nov
5:15am SAST
Tasman TAS Canterbury CAN Sat
7 Nov
8:00am SAST
Waikato WAI Bay of Plenty BAY Sun
8 Nov
3:00am SAST
Hawke's Bay HAW Wellington WEL Sun
8 Nov
3:00am SAST
Manawatu MAN Taranaki TAR Sun
8 Nov
5:15am SAST
Mon 21 Oct 2019 | 03:43

Law discussion: De Allende's 'try'

Law discussion: De Allende's 'try'
Mon 21 Oct 2019 | 03:43
Law discussion: De Allende's 'try'
SHARE

SPOTLIGHT: Damian de Allende of South Africa thought he had scored a try – and so did millions of South African supporters.

ADVERTISEMENT

From a penalty just before half-time, the Springboks kick out for a line-out.

They form a maul and trundle forward till the referee tells scrumhalf Faf de Klerk to use the ball. He passes straight to inside centre Damien de Allende who goes straight forward. Japan fullback Ryohei Yamanaka dives to tackle De Allende around the lower legs.

De Allende goes down on both knees. He then struggles to get up as Kazuki Himeno dives at his legs. (What Himeno does does not constitute a tackle as De Allende is already on the ground.) De Allende pushes himself up by his left knee, stumbles again and again uses his left knee to lever himself up and he gallops over for a try.

But the referee penalises De Allende, saying: “Knee clearly on the floor. Tackle clearly complete.”

We need the law to see what constitutes a tackle and what constitutes being grounded.

Law 14 Requirements for a tackle

  1. For a tackle to occur, the ball-carrier is held and brought to ground by one or more opponents.
  2. Being brought to ground means that the ball-carrier is lying, sitting or has at least one knee on the ground or on another player who is on the ground.
  3. Being held means that a tackler must continue holding the ball-carrier until the ball-carrier is on the ground.

 1 & 2: De Allende is brought to ground.

ADVERTISEMENT

DEFINITIONS

Off feet: Players are off their feet when any other part of the body is supported by the ground or players on the ground.

When De Allende’s knees are on the ground, he is off his feet which also means that he is on the ground. It was Yamanaka’s action that brought him there.

De Allende carries the ball and is brought to ground.

ADVERTISEMENT

3. This is the difficult one here.

Does Yamanaka keep a hold of De Allende’s legs when De Allende is on the ground?

It is not clearly the case. It may have been a good idea to have consulted the TMO as the referee’s view was from behind Yamanaka who was behind De Allende.

It was well within the TMO protocol to allow the try and then consult the TMO for a closer examination of the tackle.

If it was indeed a tackle, then De Allende was wrong to keep holding the ball and getting up with it.

Law 14.7 Tackled players must immediately:

  1. Make the ball available so that play can continue by releasing, passing or pushing the ball in any direction except forward. They may place the ball in any direction.
  2. Move away from the ball or get up.
  3. Ensure that they do not lie on, over or near the ball to prevent opposition players from gaining possession of it.

Sanction: Penalty.

Getting up with the ball is not one of the options, as it is not releasing, passing or pushing the ball.

We have stuck with the tackle because of what the referee said, but what if it had not been a tackle?

If De Allende had not been tackled but only knocked to ground, would he have been allowed to get up with the ball?

Law 13.1 Players, who go to ground to gather the ball or who go to ground with the ball, must immediately:

  1. Get up with the ball; or
  2. Play (but not kick) the ball; or
  3. Release the ball.

Sanction: Penalty

De Allende exercised option a. – getting up with the ball.

Immediately? That becomes the issue.

De Allende did not go to ground and simply stand up. He went down on both knees and got up. He went down on his left knee and got up. In the process he moved about two metres forward. That does not qualify as immediately.

If he did not do it immediately, he was liable to be penalised for what he did, and he was penalised.

The outcome was right even if the reasoning may – or may not – have been wrong, which it may not have been.

But with the score at 5-3 a more careful look may well have been sensible.

@rugby365com

PV: 16814
ADVERTISEMENT
Law discussion: De Allende's 'try' | Rugby365