Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Wed 27 Mar 2019 | 12:44

Law discussion: Line-out obstruction

Law discussion: Line-out obstruction
Wed 27 Mar 2019 | 12:44
Law discussion: Line-out obstruction

SPOTLIGHT: @rugby365com law guru Paul Dobson tackles another questionable call.

Would you penalise here?

The Hurricanes are penalised and Jean-Luc du Plessis kicks out for a lineout five metres from the Hurricanes’ goal-line with just five minutes to play. Scarra Ntubeni throws in, Chris van Zyl (4) rises high to catch he ball and comes down with it, where the Stormers form a promising maul. When Van Zyl goes up Juarno Augustus (8) of the Stormers is behind him in the Stormers line-up. When Van Zyl comes down again, Augustus goes in behind him, between him and the defending Hurricanes. The referee penalises Augustus as Siya Kolisi goes over for what he hoped would be a try to win the match.

A player must not intentionally prevent an opponent from tackling or attempting to tackle the ball-carrier.

The position Augustus which takes up stops the Hurricanes, most notably Ardie Savea and Isaia Walker-Leawere, from getting to Van Zyl, who is carrying the ball.

Because it is a lineout when Augustus moves in between Van Zyl and the Hurricanes does not negate the obstruction.

The referee was right.

By Paul Dobson

PV: 778

Law discussion: Line-out obstruction | Rugby365