Get Newsletter

Law discussion: Penalty blown back

SPOTLIGHT: @rugby365com law guru Paul Dobson looks at yet another bizarre incident where the wind takes over and the ball doesn’t go where the player wanted it.

ADVERTISEMENT

Blue is playing into the wind. Green are penalised and the Blue flyhalf kicks for goal – with a team-mate holding the ball against the wind. The kick is high, flies between the uprights beyond the crossbar and then is blown back into the field of play where both teams rush to grab the ball.

(See video below …)

The referee awards the penalty goal to Blue.

Law 8 SCORING
CONVERSION, PENALTY GOAL AND DROPPED GOAL
4. For any goal to be successful, the ball must be kicked over the crossbar and between the goal posts without first touching a team-mate or the ground.
6. If the ball has crossed the crossbar and the wind blows it back into the field of play, the score stand.

The referee was right to award the three points to Blue.

ADVERTISEMENT

 

Join free

Boks Office | Episode 14 | South Africa v Ireland Review Live

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 21

South Africa v England | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Pool C Full Match Replay

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 3

France v Wales | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Pool A Full Match Replay

Walk the Talk | Brodie Retallick | The King of the Skies

Before They Make It | Ireland

Basta Show | S2 EP 7 | Rabah Slimani

Write A Comment