Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Wed 15 May 2019 | 05:36

Referees for 63 Pre-World Cup Tests

Wed 15 May 2019 | 05:36
Referees for 63 Pre-World Cup Tests

Before the Rugby World Cup starts on 20 September 2019, there are 63 Test matches involving World Cup teams to be played. World Rugby has announced the match officials for those 63 Tests.

The 12 referees, seven assistant referees and four TMOs appointed to the World Cup will be in action.

The 12 referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Nic Berry (Australia), Jérôme Garcès (France), Angus Gardner (Australia), Pascal Gaüzère (France), Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand), Nigel Owens (Wales), Luke Pearce (England), Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Romain Poite (France), Mathieu Raynal (France) and Paul Williams (New Zealand).

The seven assistant referees: Federico Anselmi (Argentina), Andrew Brace (Ireland), Matthew Carley (England, reserve referee), Karl Dickson (England), Shuhei Kubo (Japan), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand) and Alexandre Ruiz (France).

The four TMOs: Graham Hughes (England), Rowan Kitt (England), Ben Skeen (New Zealand) and Marius Jonker (South Africa).

The 63 Tests include Rugby Championship matches, which is SANZAAR’s Test competition involving Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, the Nations Cup a World Rugby competition involving Namibia, Russia, Uruguay and an Argentina XV, Pacific Nations Cup for Canada, Fiji, Japan, Samoa, Tonga and the USA, Tests involving non-World Cup countries, and warm-up matches.

We shall publish each group of appointments separately, starting with The Rugby Championship.

  • To look at all appointments in all competitions, CLICK HERE!

The appointments were made by the World Rugby Match Officials’ Selection Committee comprising Chairman Anthony Buchanan (Council member, former Welsh international), Joël Jutge (the manager of the European Professional Rugby Clubs referees and a former French Test referee), Lyndon Bray (SANZAAR’s game manager and a former New Zealand Test referee) and Alain Rolland (the manager World Rugby’s referees and a former Irish Test referee).

The Rugby Championship

The competition has been shortened.

Saturday, 20 July 2019

South Africa vs Australia at Ellis Park, Johannesburg, South Africa
Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Matthew Carley (England), Karl Dickson (England)
Television match official: Rowan Kitt (England)

Argentina vs New Zealand in Buenos Aires, Argentina
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Alex Ruiz (France)
Television match official: Graham Hughes (England)

Saturday, 27 July, 2019

Australia vs Argentina at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Australia
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Paul Williams (New Zealand), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
Television match official: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

New Zealand vs South Africa at Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand
Referee: Nic Berry (Australia)
Assistant referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
Television match official: Rowan Kitt (England)

Saturday, 10 August 2019

Australia vs New Zealand Optus Stadium, Perth, Australia
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (SARU), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
Television match official: Marius Jonker (SARU)

Argentina vs South Africa in Salta, Argentina
Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant referees: Matthew Carley (England), Karl Dickson (England)
Television match official: Rowan Kitt (England)

Then there is the Bledisloe Cup match. It is not a part of the Rugby Championship though the Rugby Championship contributes to the Bledisloe Cup when Australia and New Zealand meet.

There will be two Bledisloe Cup matches in 2019 – the one in Perth on 10 August, which is a part of the Rugby Championship and a second match in Auckland a week later.

Saturday, 17 August 2019
New Zealand vs Australia at Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Matthew Carley (England), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
Television match official: Marius Jonker (SARU)

PV: 1815

Referees for 63 Pre-World Cup Tests | Rugby365