Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Mon 20 Jan 2020 | 10:25

SANZAAR 'axe' two referees for 2020

SANZAAR 'axe' two referees for 2020
Mon 20 Jan 2020 | 10:25
SANZAAR 'axe' two referees for 2020

NEWS: SANZAAR has announced the names of the 12 referees who will referee Super Rugby in 2020.

There are four referees each from New Zealand and South Africa, three from Australia and one from Argentina in a panel that has three fewer referees than in 2019.

Those no longer on the panel are Nick Briant and Glen Jackson of New Zealand, as well as Egon Seconds of South Africa.

Jackson, who attended the camp in Stellenbosch for Super Rugby referees, had already announced that he would no longer be refereeing after March when his contract with New Zealand Rugby expires.

“Ensuring we continue to deliver world-class and best performance match officiating is hugely important to the integrity of Super Rugby,” SANZAAR CEO Andy Marinos said.

“Super Rugby has led the way I believe in match officiating but we cannot afford to be complacent, and we are constantly adapting and innovating to ensure our match officials are the best they can be.”

Lyndon Bray, the former Test referee is Super Rugby’s game manager.

Referee management is part of his portfolio.

“This is a very settled referee team and is a tight-knit group of 12 referees, from across South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and Argentina. As in 2019, the referees will work in pods of four,” Bray said.

The 2020 Super Rugby Panel with number of Super Rugby matches refereed in brackets after their names

Argentina: Federico Anselmi (21)
Australia: Nic Berry (31), Angus Gardner (72), Damon Murphy (6)
New Zealand: Mike Fraser (60), Ben O’Keeffe (45), Brendon Pickerill (25), Paul Williams (27)
South Africa: AJ Jacobs (8), Jaco Peyper (106), Rasta Rasivhenge (22), Marius van der Westhuizen

Video Spacer

PV: 9551

Sanzaar 'axe' Two Referees For 2020 | Rugby365