Tue 3 Aug 2021 | 04:01

B&I Lions forward Sinckler's biting charge dismissed

B&I Lions forward Sinckler's biting charge dismissed
Tue 3 Aug 2021 | 04:01
B&I Lions forward Sinckler's biting charge dismissed
SHARE

DISCIPLINARY UPDATE: British and Irish Lions forward Kyle Sinckler was found not guilty of biting by an independent judicial hearing on Tuesday and can play in the series decider against South Africa in Cape Town this weekend.

ADVERTISEMENT

Lions coach Warren Gatland was sufficiently confident Sinckler would be cleared that he included the Bristol forward among his replacements for the third Test when he named the matchday 23 on Tuesday.

The England tighthead prop had been cited on Sunday after an ill-tempered second Test amid allegations that he bit Springboks lock Franco Mostert midway through the second half.

A panel consisting of three Australians, Adam Casselden and former internationals David Croft and John Langford, dismissed the citing for an act of foul play.

They reached the decision after hearing evidence from Sinckler, Mostert and the second Test match officials, led by New Zealand referee Ben O’Keeffe.

Sinckler came off the bench in the previous two Tests as a second half replacement for Tadhg Furlong.

World Rugby’s statement read: “British & Irish Lions player Kyle Sinckler appeared before an independent judicial committee via video link having been cited for an act of foul play contrary to Law 9.12 (biting) during the British & Irish Lions’ second test against South Africa on July 31.

ADVERTISEMENT

“The independent Disciplinary Committee chaired by Adam Casselden SC (Australia), joined by former international players David Croft and John Langford (both Australia), considered all the available evidence, including multiple broadcast angles, submissions from the player and his representative and expert witness testimony.

“The player denied that he had committed an act of foul play worthy of a red card. Having reviewed all the evidence, the committee deemed that on the balance of probabilities, it could not be satisfied that the player committed an act of foul play. On that basis, the committee dismissed the citing and the player is free to play again immediately.”

PV: 18
ADVERTISEMENT