Get Newsletter

Bulls bring in the lethal weapon for Trans-Jukskei derby

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White announced the team that will face the Lions as the two South African rivals meet in Round 15 of the United Rugby Championship on Saturday.


The two old foes met in round one of this campaign, with White’s men registering a resounding 31-15 victory in Johannesburg.

However, this return clash has more weight to it as Pretoria’s team will be looking for maximum points to elevate higher on the log whilst the visitors will be hoping to find something that can give them hopes of a playoff spot. Thus, giving both sides enough tantalising motivation to make this, a possible derby for the ages.

Dylan Smith and WJ Steenkamp are the only changes to the forwards’ pack that did duty a week ago, whilst Embrose Papier and Morne Steyn combine at halfback.

David Kriel moves into inside centre with Cornal Hendricks on his outside, as Wandisile Simelane starts at fullback.

Speedster, Sibusiso Nkosi (left) is joined by Sibongile Novuka (right) on the wings, adding more firepower to the pace of the lineup.

Bernard van der Linde is the only other addition to the matchday 23 that is set to feature from the impact squad, alongside the likes of Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Simphiwe Matanzima, Francois Klopper, Ruan Vermaak, Cyle Brink, Chris Smith and centre Harold Vorster.


Bulls: 15 Wandisile Simelane, 14 Sibongile Novuka, 13 Cornal Hendricks, 12 David Kriel, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Morne Smith, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 WJ Steenkamp, , 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (captain), 4 Jacques Du Plessis, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Dylan Smith.
Replacements: 16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Ruan Vermaak, 20 Cyle Brink,
21 Bernard van der Linde, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Harold Vorster

Date: Saturday, March 4
Venue: Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria
Kick-off: 16.45 (14.45 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa), Griffon Colby (South Africa)
TMO: Quinton Immelman (South Africa)

Write A Comment