Tue 3 Nov 2020 | 02:47

Currie Cup 2020 schedule revealed

Currie Cup 2020 schedule revealed
Tue 3 Nov 2020 | 02:47
Currie Cup 2020 schedule revealed

NEWS: The 2020 Currie Cup season will officially kick off on the weekend of November 27/28, culminating in the final on  January 23, 2021.


All log points from Super Rugby Unlocked will be carried over to the Currie Cup.

The Cheetahs will defend the crown they won in the 2019 Final against the Lions, as well as the Bulls, Griquas, Pumas, Sharks and Western Province.

The opening round of matches will see the Sharks host the Pumas, Griquas take on the Lions and the Bulls travel to Cape Town to face Western Province. The Cheetahs have a bye.

The action will build-up to the semifinals on Saturday, 16 January 2021, when the top four teams on the log will slog it out to progress to the Final (January 23).

Story continues below…

Super Rugby Unlocked standings

Fixtures for the 2020 Currie Cup (all subject to change – all times local) :

Friday 27 November:


19.00: Sharks v Pumas (Kings Park, Durban)

Saturday 28 November:

16.30: Griquas v Lions (Griqua Park, Kimberley)

19.00: Western Province v Bulls (Newlands, Cape Town)


Friday 4 December:

19.00: Pumas v Griquas (‎Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

Saturday 5 December:

16.30: Bulls v Cheetahs (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)

19.00: Lions v Western Province (Ellis Park, Johannesburg)

Friday 11 December:

19.00: Western Province v Pumas (Newlands, Cape Town)

Saturday 12 December:

16.30: Cheetahs v Lions (Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein)

19.00: Sharks v Bulls (Kings Park, Durban)

Friday 18 December:

19.00: Pumas v Cheetahs (‎Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

Saturday 19 December:

16.30: Griquas v Bulls (Griqua Park, Kimberley)

19.00: Lions v Sharks (Ellis Park, Johannesburg)

Saturday 26 December:

16.30: Western Province v Griquas (Newlands, Cape Town)

19.00: Bulls v Lions (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)

Sunday 27 December:

16.30: Cheetahs v Sharks (Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein)

Saturday 2 January 2021:

14.00: Pumas v Lions (‎Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

16.30: Sharks v Griquas (Kings Park, Durban)

19.00: Cheetahs v Western Province (Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein)

Friday 8 January:

19.00: Pumas v Bulls (‎Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

Saturday 9 January:

16.30: Griquas v Cheetahs (Griqua Park, Kimberley)

19.00: Western Province v Sharks (Newlands, Cape Town)

Saturday 16 January 2021: Semifinals

Saturday 23 January 2021: Final

PV: 13