Wed 9 Jun 2021 | 08:48

Reds still without star playmaker

Reds still without star playmaker
Wed 9 Jun 2021 | 08:48
Reds still without star playmaker

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Queensland Reds have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday’s Super Rugby Trans-Tasman fixture against the Hurricanes in Wellington.


Bryce Hegarty has overcome a minor hamstring concern that sidelined him last week and will start at flyhalf with James O’Connor still battling a neck injury.

Josh Flook comes into the starting side on the right wing replacing Suliasi Vunivalu who suffered a hamstring injury midway through the second half of last week’s match against the Blues.

Angus Blyth will start in the No.4 jersey which sees Ryan Smith set to come on as a replacement in one-of-six changes to the Reds’ reserves.

In their final game of the 2021 season, Queensland could blood their ninth debutant this year with Brothers utility back Hudson Creighton named on the bench.

Fraser McReight has been recalled into the 23, so too hooker Richie Asiata and loosehead prop Harry Hoopert, as well as replacement scrumhalf Kalani Thomas for Friday’s fixture in Wellington.

(Continue below …)

Video Spacer

“We’re looking forward to getting back over to Wellington,” Reds coach Brad Thorn said, adding: “We haven’t been there since 2018.


“The Hurricanes are playing for a finals spot and we’re expecting a tough battle against them.

“We want to finish the season well and put in a good performance for our Queensland fans back home,” Thorn added.

Queensland Reds: 15 Mac Grealy, 14 Josh Flook, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Isaac Henry, 11 Filipo Daugunu, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Liam Wright (captain), 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Angus Blyth, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Feao Fotuaika.
Replacements: 16 Richie Asiata, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Zane Nonggorr, 19 Ryan Smith, 20 Fraser McReight, 21 Kalani Thomas, 22 Hudson Creighton, 23 Moses Sorovi.

Date: Friday, June 11
Venue: Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 19.05 (17.05 AEST; 07.05 GMT)
Referee: James Doleman
Assistant referees: Angus Mabey, Dan Waenga
TMO: Aaron Paterson

PV: 61