Get Newsletter

Sexton gets captaincy for 100th Test

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Andy Farrell has named the Ireland matchday squad to play Japan in Dublin on Saturday.


Johnny Sexton captains the side on his 100th appearance for Ireland.

He is joined at halfback by Jamison Gibson Park, with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose reunited in the centre for the first time since the rescheduled Six Nations fixture against Italy in October 2020.

Hugo Keenan starts at fullback in his 14th consecutive game for Ireland and is supported in the backfield by Andrew Conway and James Lowe.

Andrew Porter makes his first international start at loosehead in a front row containing Ronan Kelleher and Tadhg Furlong, who wins his 50th cap.

James Ryan and Tadhg Beirne are named at lock and the Leinster trio of Caelan Doris, Josh van der Flier and Jack Conan make up the back row.

The replacements named for Saturday’s game are uncapped hooker Dan Sheehan, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson, Peter O’Mahony, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery and Keith Earls.


In July the two sides produced a nine-try thriller with Ireland emerging 39-31 victors. \

Ireland: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 James Lowe, 10 Johnny Sexton (captain), 9 Jamison Gibson Park, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Caelan Doris, 5 James Ryan, 4 Tadhg Beirne, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Ronan Kelleher, 1 Andrew Porter.
Replacements: 16 Dan Sheehan, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Peter O’Mahony, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Keith Earls.

Date: Saturday, November 6
Venue: Lansdowne Road, Dublin
Kick-off: 13.00 (22.00 Japan time; 13.00 GMT)
Referee: Nika Amashukeli
Assistant referees: Damon Murphy, Pierre Brousset
TMO: Eric Gauzins

Ireland team


Write A Comment