Get Newsletter

Stormers bring in some serious Bok muscle

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Stormers coach John Dobson wasted no time in bringing back some serious Springbok muscle.


Lock Salmaan Moerat will captain the Stormers in their historic first-ever United Rugby Championship match in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

The Stormers host the Dragons from Wales at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

Moerat is joined in the second row by fellow Springbok lock Marvin Orie, while flyhalf Manie Libbok and replacement loose forward Deon Fourie also make their return from duty with the national side.

In the backline, Tristan Leyds makes his first appearance of the season on the wing, along with outside centre Ruhan Nel who returns from an injury picked up in pre-season.

Herschel Jantjies starts at scrumhalf to round out an exciting backline, with utility back Mnombo Zwelendaba set to make his Stormers debut from the replacements bench.

Flanks Willie Engelbrecht and Nama Xaba also come into the starting line-up, as well as loosehead prop Kwenzo Blose.


Stormers coach John Dobson said that his team is looking forward to what should be a special occasion.

“We know that the people of Port Elizabeth have plenty of passion for our team, so we can’t wait to get out there and experience the atmosphere at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

“There have been a number of changes and we are excited to see how the players coming in make an impact on Saturday,” he said.

Stormers: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Tristan Leyds, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Salmaan Moerat (captain), 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Kwenzo Blose.
Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Connor Evans, 20 Deon Fourie, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Mnombo Zwelendaba.


Date: Saturday, December 3
Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Kick-off: 14.00 (12.00 Ireland & UK time; 12.00 GMT)
Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa), Christopher Allison (South Africa)
TMO: Ben Blain (Scotland)

Join free

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Big Jim Show | Guinness Six Nations | England v Scotland

Vancouver SVNS - Day 2 - Full Replay

Vancouver SVNS - Day 1 - Full Replay

Life on Tour: 4

Wolfhounds v Clovers | Celtic Challenge 2024 | Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Jesse Kriel reveals the hardest team he had to play at the Rugby World Cup

Big Jim Walks and Talks with Handré Pollard


Write A Comment