Get Newsletter

Team of the Week: Powerful Province

Western Province have laid down the marker as the team to beat after overcoming the Lions – for the Cape boys it means big representation in rugby365'sfamous team of the week.


Province weigh in with a hefty nine players throughout the team with six of them straight into the starting line-up.


The next best teams are the weekends other three winners with the Bulls and Sharks both getting four in each, while the Pumas get five.


The Cheetahs get three men in after they impressed against the Sharks, coming agonisingly close to a first win in the competition.


The Lions have two representatives along side the Griquas, while the Kings have a shinning star after their poor performance.


What makes Province's representation even more impressive is that it sees a hat-trick of appearances at fullback, at left wing and at blindside flank in our selection.


Team of the Week – Currie Cup, Round Three:


15 – Cheslin Kolbe: (Western Province)

He has made this spot his own both in our selection and for WP – Taute will have a hard time wrestling the jersey back from him.

Bubbling under: Clayton Blommetjies (Cheetahs)


14 – Kobus van Wyk: (Western Province)

Scored two tries and troubled the Lions defence that seemed to need to scramble after him all game.

Bubbling under: Akona Ndungane (Blue Bulls)


13 – Lionel Mapoe: (Lions)

He is known for his attacking threat, but his defensive organisation was what most impressed against a rampant WP.

Bubbling under: Juan De Jongh (Western Province)


12 – Paul Jordaan: (Sharks)

He is really starting to grow into a more rounded player, adding the skills of a No.12 to his already impressive No.13 repertoire.

Bubbling under: Stefan Watermeyer (Pumas)


11 – Seabelo Senatla: (Western Province)

He is another one that has been here for all three of our selections (once bubbling) as he continues to impress from his conversion as a Sevens player.

Bubbling under: Sampie Mastriet (Blue Bulls)


10 – Willie du Plessis: (Cheetahs)

He has bounced around from team to team but seemed to really looked settled in the Cheetahs new style of play leading the game like an old-head.

Bubbling under: Fred Zeilinga (Sharks)


9 – Nick Groom: (Western Province)

Benefited from a solid performance by the WP forwards, especially the loosies, but kept the service fluid and fast for his potent backline.

Bubbling under: Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs)


8 – Nizaam Carr: (Western Province)

An outstanding performance from the powerful No.8, filling the hole left by Duane Vermeulen – he is steadily becoming the rock which WP build upon.

Bubbling under: Renaldo Bothma (Pumas)


7 – Michael Rhodes:  (Western Province)

Another one who is impressing after appearing in this spot three times now, he continues to keep Rynhardt Elstadt out of the jumper with his hard-man approach.

Bubbling under: Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls)


6 – Jacques Botes: (Sharks)

He keeps impressing up until the very end, the Sharks will miss him when he retires at the conclusion of the season.

Bubbling under: Marnus Schoeman (Griquas)


5 – Lubabalo Mtyanda: (Pumas)

Giant by name, giant by nature, was a huge presence on the field getting himself involved in all aspects of the game.

Bubbling under: Jaco Nepgen (Griquas)


4 – Frikkie Spies: (Pumas)

A tough one to call with Jean Kleyn also looking good, but it was his work with ball in hand that edged it for the lock who has returned from France recently.

Bubbling under: Jean Kleyn (Western Province)


3 – Vincent Koch: (Pumas)

He was a monster in the scrum, even though he is usually a loosehead, and he put in a lot of work including a brilliant try saving tackle.

Bubbling under: Pat Cilliers (Western Province)


2 – Kyle Cooper: (Sharks)

Another player who is steadily making a name for himself now that he is the number one choice at hooker – the game time seems to be energizing him no end as he makes a third appearance in our selection.

Bubbling under: Bongi Mbonambi (Blue Bulls)


1 – Lizo Gqoboka: (Eastern Province Kings)

A lively performance from the big prop, looked a little like a scrumhalf carrying a briefcase for his sniping try along the fringes – but nevertheless, deserved prize winner.

Bubbling under: Schalk van der Merwe (Lions)


Our individual selections:


Jan de Koning XV: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.


Darryn Pollock XV: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Nick Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 4 Frikkie Spies, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.


Tauriq Ebrahim XV: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Juan De Jongh, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Niclaas Hanekom, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Corne Fourie.


Paul Dobson XV: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Nick Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Jaco Nepgen, 4 Frikkie Spies, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.


Previous selections:


Team of the Week – Round 2: 15 Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province), 14 Odwa Ndungane (Sharks), 13 Juan de Jongh (Western Province), 12 Paul Jordaan (Sharks), 11 Seabelo Senatla (Western Province), 10 Jaco van der Walt (Lions), 9 Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs), 8 Nizaam Carr (Western Province), 7 Michael Rhodes (Western Province), 6 Jaco Kriel (Lions), 5 Marco Wentzel (Sharks), 4 Frikkie Spies (Pumas), 3 Pat Cilliers (Western Province), 2 Kyke Cooper (Sharks), 1 Vincent Koch (Pumas).


Team of the Week – Round 1: 15 Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province), 14  Rayno Benjamin (Free State Cheetahs), 13 Nicolaas Hanekom (Golden Lions), 12 Paul Jordaan (Sharks), 11 Ruan Combrinck (Lions), 10 Fred Zeilinga (Sharks), 9 Ross Cronjé (Golden Lions), 8 Renaldo Bothma (Pumas), Derick Minnie (Golden Lions), 6 Marnus Schoeman (Griquas), 5 Francois Uys (Free State Cheetahs), 4  Paul Willemse (Blue Bulls), 3 Ruan Dryer (Golden Lions), 2 Kyle Cooper (Sharks), 1 Schalk van der Merwe (Golden Lions).


Join free

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 9

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Steelers | Full Match Replay

Write A Comment